We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for nonsmokers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camellia Court Motel
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not for nonsmokers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Very cheap so I didn't expect much but so disappointed with the level of tobacco use. The drive ways have heaps of cigarette butts scattered around. There are large full (plant pot sized) ashtrays outside the front doors of each unit and the units themselves stink of stale smoke - not just a hint but like someone had recently lit up. The bedding provided wreaked. Our clothes all needed washing. The complex reception also smells of smoke and I guess it doesn't bother the owners. Many tenants were smoking, albeit outside, but usually directly in front of their units doors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HazelTravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    24
    24
    32
See reviews for
55
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very appauling facillities my partner & families with children were forced to use the mens showers and toilets.Were told we werent allowed visitors and spoken inapropriately by the owner.The bbq was very rusted and fat & grime all over the area it was filthy.The bedding had obvious blood stains my partner remade bedding herself.There was painting being done as i had prepaid for 3weeks prior turning up. The whole time there my partner could only used the ladies twice.Very very appauled with the owners customer service towards certain people we will not be back & now have found a friendly & more respectful customer service near by.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikewhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on this place and we still went as I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt. I was sorely disappointed.
So easy to make this place better, wash the walls down, paint the walls and ceiling, new bedding, new mattresses, steam clean upholstery, carpets. The bathrooms need to be gutted and start fresh, I only got 2mins of hot water in the shower. I've stayed in a lot of crummy motels but this is the worst!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank silversparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I booked in 11 people for a fishing trip. We pre-negotiated a flat rate per head on a shared room basis. We had 3 people in a 4 bed unit and he tried to charge us the full unit rate instead of the agreed flat rate per head. When booking, we checked that they had a communal area and BBQs available. BBQs were rusted or dirty and located well away from the communal kitchen area. As it was raining we wanted to move BBQs under cover outside a unit, but we were not allowed because he didn’t want smoke getting onto the eaves. We couldn’t shift BBQs outside in the open outside the communal kitchen area because the owner was concerned that they would be stolen overnight. Communal kitchen was old, in a mess and dirty. Units were tired and rundown, with tears in furniture, missing or broken bulbs. When we told him of the missing bulbs, he said we should have told him. He should have checked before units let out. Basically, the whole place is very rundown. I would only recommend if you are on a shoestring budget. I can see why he wanted full payment upon arrival rather than at checkout time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFAC_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place is atrocious. While it certainly was favourably priced, the conditions were well below standard, the facilities old, broken and very unclean especially the pots and pans, the shower had a dirty feel to it, the service was less than friendly and it is situated in a difficult to find location within Taupo's suburbs. I was most unhappy about my stay, and it was the only unpleasant aspect of an otherwise fantastic family trip involving several motels, eateries and service stations respectively across the North island. Don't waste your money here. We had to make a special trip out just to eat as the pans were dirty...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Man2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Got a basic cabin for $40 for one night, 2 people. This is bloody cheap. The room was small with bunk beds, small table and a TV from the 8th with very poor reception. The room did look run down but was good enough for night. The shared bathroom/toilet was dirty and didn't take shower as went to hot pools instead. The shared kitchen had all you need but look dirty and didn't use anything. Also so much light flooding room and people talking past mid night. Overall for the amount I paid it was Ok.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed there 2 nights. The units are old, the surrounding area is not the safest, but my unit was clean and everything worked. The owner was friendly. They did change my towel after the first night. I was happy enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.7 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#39 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dunrovin Motel
Dunrovin Motel
#43 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camellia Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camellia Court Motel

Property: Camellia Court Motel
Address: 50 Tonga Street, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Camellia Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camellia Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing