We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We camped here one night on the way to Wellington - all of the facilities were excellent. The kitchen/dining down our end of the park was in great condition, always tidy and clean, and had enough tables for all of the campers to fit. Great to have the TV available in there also.

Only criticism would be that the timer on the lights in the toilets doesn't stay on for long enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan_Shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review. It is nice to know that you found the facilities to be so clean I will ensure the staff responsible are told. With regards the lights in the communal facilities, they are on a sensor not a timer so will go out if they don't detect any movement. We hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    87
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
181
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in a self contained studio for 3 nights. It was well equipped with a Heat pump and small but ample kitchen with a modern bathroom.Very clean. Kids loved the bouncy pillow and there is a large warm pool and a smaller pool that is hot. Sky tv in the studio as well with movies. Comfy beds. The communal facilities were modern and clean. Great to see recycling is encouraged. Will stay here next time we go to Taupo.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvakiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review of our Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in the 10 person (2 rooms, 4 bunks, 1 Dbl bed) deluxe cabin. No toilet /shower, only basic kitchen facilities but we knew that when we booked.

The main reason for staying at Top ten is for the swimming pool and playground facilities. If you have children and don't mind the extra expense this is the best option in Taupo in my opinion.

Heated swimming pool is a good size but a bit deep for younger kids (my 4 yr old could not quite touch bottom of main pool so he hopped ).

The resort site is on a large slope but northerly aspect so you get really great sun through the day.

Toilets/shower blocks are clean and the outdoor areas look well maintained.

Our deluxe cabin was in a row of 3 or 4 attached cabins. Inside was reasonably clean for what it is and plenty of spare power points. Heating is excellent, they have a heat pump which does a great job.


TV was way too small for the viewing distance but you don't go to these places to watch TV.

Main complaint with the room was the walls are paper thin and adjacent cabin noise is amplified if anything.

It would have been nice if they included a small milk carton and a few teabags/coffee. It is highly unusual that they don't. But , there is an onsite shop where you can buy these but we were paying $190 a night it seemed a bit miserly they don't include for free.

They make you pay per person rather than per room so a single cabin can be very expensive if you use all beds.

Overall, I highly recommend this resort . You can get cheaper accommodation in Taupo but not with such great facilities.

Room Tip: Get an end cabin -- less neighbours is less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made full use of all the facilities on offer, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here with our 4 children in a standard cabin over the summer break. The aircon was greatly welcomed, the cabins were excellent for what we needed & very clean. I must say I missed the bed for weeks after as it was so comfortable. There is so much to do here and the staff are really helpful . the kids are already begging to go back. Thanks so much for a holiday well remember for years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 199Kylies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post a review of our Resort. We love to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their stay with us, if you are planning on coming back I would recommend checking out our website for our Hot Deals page!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We hired the cabin 107 for a night when relocating the family to Wellington. This 3 bedroom cabin was fantastic. The super king bed may have been the most plush bed I have ever slept in! The park seemed to have great facilities, we had a swim and the girls had a big play on the well equipped playground and the 'pillow' was awesome! We would definitely be back if passing through.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveNZHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We get many great comments about room 107, Wimbledon Cottage and especially the stunning Super-King beds. With all the facilities on offer we have plenty to keep the children entertained and even more if you come back during the school holidays! Come back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
381 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The site itself is excellent, with very modern facilities and even a swimming pool which we used.

The location of the site however, is hardly scenic as it is very close to a major sports centre and the ring road (no noise). So, it almost feels as though it is in the middle of an industrial zone. If the location had have been a bit more scenic it would get 5 stars for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Many thanks for the review, we're glad that you took time to enjoy the fabulous facilities. Being close to the main sports centres are a real plus for us as is our proximity to the highway but as you point out without the noise!! We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Thanks for an awesome first camping experience. The staff were super helpful before, during and after our stay. The playground facilities were awesome. Our girls thought the jumping pillow was just fantastic!! The kitchen, shower facilities were all lovely, clean and modern. Will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thanks for the review Andrea, it's good to see that you enjoyed the Jumping Pillow so much and that all our facilities were good and clean! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort

Property: Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Address: 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Top 10 Holiday Resort is a destination in itself with a spectacular tropical style pool with swim-up bar plus café, and being geothermally heated it will keep you lovely and warm year round. Located 5 minutes from Taupo city centre and sprawled across 8 hectares of park land, the resort is a hidden oasis surrounded by nature and offers comfortable, clean accommodation ranging from motels, cabins and sites for your campervan, RV, tent or boat. Boasting friendly kiwi service and extensive, modern facilities, guests enjoy free gas BBQ's, Wifi, an on-site shop and shared laundry facilities. A fishing bay is available to clean up your catch of the day and secure sites to park your boat or vessel. Cycle enthusiasts can also take advantage of secure, covered cycle storage and cycle cleaning facilities. Activities abound and entertainment facilities include New Zealand's first swimming pool with swim-up bar and café. The new pool provides hours of entertainment for the young and young at heart, with an underground cave, giant mushroom and play area for kids and a massive outdoor television playing movies or the latest sports game. New Zealand's largest jumping pillow, volleyball, basketball, petanque, chess, an adventure playground plus much more feature at the park too. Mountain bikes and go-karts are also available to hire. A short drive to Taupo town and other popular attractions the resort is also a great base for your greater Taupo adventure. Resort staff can book trout fishing, jet boating, bungy, sky diving activities and more. Whether on a family escape, couples getaway or group adventure, everything required for a relaxing, fun and effortless holiday can be found at Lake Taupo Top 10 Holiday Resort. Experience our slice of paradise right here in New Zealand, once you stay a few days you won't want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing