We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Taupo Holiday Resort
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed recently for two nights of a long weekend with a group of three families. Our two bedroom unit was spacious, clean and comfortable, with electric blankets to keep you cosy on a cold winters night. The heated pool and spa, giant outdoor checkers and bouncy pillow were a huge hit with the kids, who we barely saw the entire time, the grounds were beautifully maintained and tidy, as were all communal areas.. The only downside for us would have been the two night minimum (understandable I guess on a long weekend) but this prevented two other families staying there. They didn't seem to be completely full so I wonder whether there would have been space for them to have stayed after all?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropicalsundae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for the review. Sadly we do enforce a two night minimum especially over long weekends and unfortunately that means some people will miss out. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were super impressed with Taupo Top 10. We meet up with three other familes and had children from 8-13. Loads to do for the children - best thing being the very clean and wonderfully warm swimming pool and spa which meant in June the boys spent a lot of the weekend swimming. Also the playground, tennis courts, giant chess and checker set plus games room meant the children had lots to do. The whole place is very clean, modern and well maintained and staff were great too. Thank you.

Room Tip: Children spend a lot of time on the bouncy cushion and playground near pool so handy to have a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

A great review, thank you so much. We hope to see you and the other families back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Had an amazing weekend with 3 families! Pool was incredible, could have stayed there all weekend!! Being in the middle of winter, I went expecting to freeze for the entire time but everywhere we went in the park was heated and cosy. The kitchen provided a great place for the families to cook together although could have done with more lounge space for us to all hang out together. Needed to stay for another week to enjoy all that the park offered! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kerynfoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review, the staff always like to hear when our customers have enjoyed their stay, see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We have just arrived home from this resort. We have stayed here on several occasions over the years and it seems to get better and better every time we return. This time we stayed in a brand new self-contained unit 44. It was absolutely perfect! This room has a queen bed in the kitchen area and 4 sets of bunks in a separate room which has new carpet and is really cosy, there is a heat pump in both rooms and we didn't need to use them at all as the room was warm enough without them, an awesome kitchen with everything you need (maybe it's own oven would make this the perfect kitchen) and a huge bathroom with a roomy shower, hair dryer, soap and shampoo. All the beds are made up and towels are provided in the cost so you only need to bring swimming towels. The resort is well looked after and clean which is the first thing I always look for! The pool, spa, games room, t.v room, playground, jumping pillow and funzone kept the kids occupied for the whole 3 day long weekend. When you compare all the facilities and the price you pay this is the place to stay especially if you have children they love it! You will always find a cheaper motel but...will it provide you with everything you get here at this resort? I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a nice clean relaxing stay in taupo away from the hussle and bussle of town. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thank you Marina for your review. The reactions we are receiving for our newest room have all been great and it's good to know that our customers appreciate all the extra features we put into it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Life on the road in a motorhome can be a real joy but the camping grounds in New Zealand are not cheap. Every now and then a sensibly priced, well located camping ground turns up. This is NOT one of them. The grounds are placed at least 2.5 kms from the town centre, so don't expect to enjoy the local night life. It is near a busy road, the trees are still immature and the grounds look barren. All the motor homes were shoved into the same small bay that night. Is this necessary in off season? The daily cost of $44.00 NZ pays for the jumping castle and silly giant chess pieces. This stuff really annoys me. It might be a good distraction for kids, but for the average traveller, these 'attractions' just add to the overnight cost. The bathrooms were heated, a good point, but were quite small. As it is almost impossible to change back into clothes in these small cubicles, a large outsie area with a bench seat is a good feature. This place did not provide any area post cubicle at ll. It was clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Thanks for taking your time with your review Morgana. We try to ensure that we cater for as many people who come through our gate as possible and feel that our Jumping Pillow, Tennis Courts, Swimming Pool and even the Giant Chess add value to a stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy these added facilities it's good to see that you found everything spotlessly clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We camped here one night on the way to Wellington - all of the facilities were excellent. The kitchen/dining down our end of the park was in great condition, always tidy and clean, and had enough tables for all of the campers to fit. Great to have the TV available in there also.

Only criticism would be that the timer on the lights in the toilets doesn't stay on for long enough!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan_Shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review. It is nice to know that you found the facilities to be so clean I will ensure the staff responsible are told. With regards the lights in the communal facilities, they are on a sensor not a timer so will go out if they don't detect any movement. We hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed in a self contained studio for 3 nights. It was well equipped with a Heat pump and small but ample kitchen with a modern bathroom.Very clean. Kids loved the bouncy pillow and there is a large warm pool and a smaller pool that is hot. Sky tv in the studio as well with movies. Comfy beds. The communal facilities were modern and clean. Great to see recycling is encouraged. Will stay here next time we go to Taupo.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvakiwihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our Resort. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,254 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 68 in Taupo
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#16 of 68 in Taupo
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Holiday Resort

Address: 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £62 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Taupo Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No Passport Required. It's all here - everything you need for an instant holiday. Start relaxing from the moment you arrive. Lake Taupo Holiday Resort is a destination in itself with a spectacular tropical style pool with swim-up bar plus café, and being geothermally heated it will keep you lovely and warm year round. Located 5 minutes from Taupo city centre and sprawled across 8 hectares of park land, the resort is a hidden oasis surrounded by nature and offers comfortable, clean accommodation ranging from motels, cabins and sites for your campervan, RV, tent or boat. Boasting friendly kiwi service and extensive, modern facilities, guests enjoy free gas BBQ's, Wifi, an on-site shop and shared laundry facilities. A fishing bay is available to clean up your catch of the day and secure sites to park your boat or vessel. Cycle enthusiasts can also take advantage of secure, covered cycle storage and cycle cleaning facilities. Activities abound and entertainment facilities include New Zealand's first swimming pool with swim-up bar and café. The new pool provides hours of entertainment for the young and young at heart, with an underground cave, giant mushroom and play area for kids and a massive outdoor television playing movies or the latest sports game. New Zealand's largest jumping pillow, volleyball, basketball, petanque, chess, an adventure playground plus much more feature at the park too. Mountain bikes and go-karts are also available to hire. A short drive to Taupo town and other popular attractions the resort is also a great base for your greater Taupo adventure. Resort staff can book trout fishing, jet boating, bungy, sky diving activities and more. Whether on a family escape, couples getaway or group adventure, everything required for a relaxing, fun and effortless holiday can be found at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort. Experience our slice of paradise right here in New Zealand, once you stay a few days you won't want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake Taupo Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing