We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child Friendly - great motel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Child Friendly - great motel rooms”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Heaps of space for kids to play including playground, bouncy covered area, bikes to rent, pool to swim in. 2 bedroom motel was well equipped.

Easy to check-in. Easy to Checkout.
Heaps of parking space
Grass and Grounds well maintained
Heaps of activities for the kids.

Room Tip: Book bikes early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
We love to hear such positive comments from our guests and it's great to see that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us, don't forget that if you come over school holidays we have our FUNZONE kids programme on too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    87
    30
    22
    19
See reviews for
184
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

This park has it all - magnificent grounds just 5 mins from glorious Taupo, with heaps of open space for the kids to run around. There's a great playground and heated pool to contribute to the fun. We stayed for one night in a two bedroom park motel and could easily have stayed a week. The room was compact but lacked no features, was very well appointed and superbly comfortable. We also really liked the private courtyard with picnic table and BBQ close by. It is obvious that the facilities here are very well maintained, and it easily won our family's award for best top 10 park (and we have stayed in nearly half of them). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
What a great review! Many thanks, we're pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and hope that next time you can stay for longer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Booked 2 cabins 2 nights (Fri/Sat) for a party of eight. Great service when booking and the young lady was very helpful when confirming our bookings and passed our credit details as requested for a deposit. Both parties receive a call from the Manager/Owner later in the evening saying that the office girl had made a mistake and had over rid the booking system and that he wouldn't accept our bookings unless we stayed for 3 nights as it was a public holiday on the Thursday(Waitangi Day 2014) 3 night min. Unfortunately neither party can. So our booking has been refused. What has annoyed us the most is the Manager/Owner has blamed this young lady when in fact he needs to accept responsibility for his lack of staff training and his booking system.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NZTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
We hold to our minimum stays over holiday weekends and it is unfortunate that the staff member who booked your reservations saw fit to override the systems we have in place. The mistake was spotted on the same day of booking and you were contacted straight away to inform you of this oversight, I am happy that all efforts were made to accommodate your bookings within our minimum stay framework and it is a shame that we will not be hosting your stay in Taupo this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed just the 1 night in a powered site. The amenities were spotless, the kitchen was great and plenty of space for everyone. My only complaint would be that we had to put the dryer on several times as it did not dry the clothes very well. This place would be great for families, but we also found it of a high standard.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Panda_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Many thanks for your review, our staff take great pride in ensuring that the facilities and grounds are kept clean and tidy so it is always great to hear that this has been achieved. We hope to host you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
233 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Was reluctant to give 5 stars to any holiday park but as camping parks go I think this one deserves it.
A short drive out of town so nice & quiet. Boom gates for security. Amenties block with lots of hot water and underfloor heating. Good kitchen & laundry facilities. Great barbeque area. Even though middle of winter the kids loved the pool which was heated to 39 degrees.Nice playground for the kids & a giant outdoor chess set for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for the review, we get loads of great comments about our Thermally Heated Swimming Pool which is FREE to all guests so it's good to see it mentioned again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We arrived late and our room was nicely heated. Very clean. Would recommend as a great place to stay in Taupo. The large security gates made the place very secure. Staff where very helpful, thorough and friendly.

Very very clean, new beds and great service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amberdean19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We're very proud of our Resort and love to share it with all our customers. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We loved our time at the Top 10 in Taupo. The facilities are fantastic with the pool being a real plus for the kids (and the adults in the warmer part!). Lots of room for the whole family (bout 30 in all).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karenvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaupoTOP10, Manager at Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We've had several family reunions staying with us over the past few months and it's great to see so many that enjoyed themselves. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
All Seasons Holiday Park Taupo
1.6 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort

Property: Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
Address: 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo 3378, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Top 10 Holiday Resort is a destination in itself with a spectacular tropical style pool with swim-up bar plus café, and being geothermally heated it will keep you lovely and warm year round. Located 5 minutes from Taupo city centre and sprawled across 8 hectares of park land, the resort is a hidden oasis surrounded by nature and offers comfortable, clean accommodation ranging from motels, cabins and sites for your campervan, RV, tent or boat. Boasting friendly kiwi service and extensive, modern facilities, guests enjoy free gas BBQ's, Wifi, an on-site shop and shared laundry facilities. A fishing bay is available to clean up your catch of the day and secure sites to park your boat or vessel. Cycle enthusiasts can also take advantage of secure, covered cycle storage and cycle cleaning facilities. Activities abound and entertainment facilities include New Zealand's first swimming pool with swim-up bar and café. The new pool provides hours of entertainment for the young and young at heart, with an underground cave, giant mushroom and play area for kids and a massive outdoor television playing movies or the latest sports game. New Zealand's largest jumping pillow, volleyball, basketball, petanque, chess, an adventure playground plus much more feature at the park too. Mountain bikes and go-karts are also available to hire. A short drive to Taupo town and other popular attractions the resort is also a great base for your greater Taupo adventure. Resort staff can book trout fishing, jet boating, bungy, sky diving activities and more. Whether on a family escape, couples getaway or group adventure, everything required for a relaxing, fun and effortless holiday can be found at Lake Taupo Top 10 Holiday Resort. Experience our slice of paradise right here in New Zealand, once you stay a few days you won't want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing