We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillant last afternoon”
Review of Sail Barbary

Sail Barbary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$29.58*
and up
Maori Rock Carvings Sailing Trip in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sail Barbary to the Maori Rock Carvings on Great Lake Taupo, New Zealand. Sail Barbary is an all-year-round top rated Taupo activity; offering relaxation, fun and adventure on the water the Kiwi way. Taupo's 14-meter high Maori Rock Carvings are possibly the largest of their type in the world and are a must-see attraction, only accessible by boat. Sail Barbary has been offering sailing cruises to these carvings since 1983. Soak up the sun or roll up your sleeves; you can take the wheel, help hoist the sails or just sit back and enjoy the view. You’re guaranteed amazing photo opportunities as you experience one of life’s postcard moments. You can even BYO (Bring Your Own) food and beverages. Things really couldn’t get more Kiwi! As New Zealand’s only two commercially operated electric yachts - We're equipped for all conditions; if the wind dies down, Barbary's eco-friendly electric engine kicks in, moving noiselessly through the water. When the wind is up, you can enjoy sailing without salty sea-spray and noisy outboard motors. Warm ponchos are supplied. Sail Barbary cruises to the Maori Rock Carvings depart daily at 10.30am, 2.00pm, and 5.00pm (*5.00pm Summer Only). We don’t promise the best cruise on the lake, we deliver it!
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brillant last afternoon”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Wow what a wonderful way to spend 3 hours. Sailing. Sitting up top in a comfortable bean bag. Weather was beautiful. Mum whom is 83 had no trouble boarding or getting off. The rock carvings were awesome. Lovely glass of wine included in the price. Was excellant value!!!

Helpful?
Thank beansupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Barbs suits all ages and the summer we have had has made our season super easy and great fun. Cheers from the Barbary team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    63
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch Kiwi experience!”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

As a Taupo local, I often look out at our beautiful Lake (As well as the Barbary in full sail) and admire it's beauty....It seems crazy that I don't get out on the lake enough! What a Summer we have had and I thought I would get out on the lake before it was over.

I chose the Barbary because I have dealt with Sarah and Jamie (Owner Operators) in the past and they are fantastic - So warm and welcoming with a real desire to please their cutomers!

I wasn't disappointed - An amazing evening, a beautiful swim, a delicious BBQ and fantastic hospitality made for an enjoyable night and reinforced what an amazing place we have in Taupo. We are spoilt for choice in our great region and the Barbary highlights why.

Tip: Take the 5pm cruise in late summer, enjoy the BBQ (additional charge - well worth it) and then sail back as the sun sets!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivaninch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
It is always good to have locals out on the big pond, you are right we do enjoy providing good service and we aim to please. We want more good people to come and enjoy our pristine location. Thanks for taking the time to drop a review
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Kuiti, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and relaxing.”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Wow what a fantastic experience. Jamie is a great captain/host, who gives lots of interesting information along the tour. We also were provided with a lifejacket for our infant. We ended up so relaxed on our trip.

Helpful?
Thank rwoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Holidays are all about relaxing and great experiences. Glad to hear your great experience was super relaxing
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Beautiful way to enjoy the lake”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Thank you to Jamie and Sarah for making our staff Christmas Party albeit late in February a great evening. They say males don't multi-task, well Jamie is the exception to the rule! He is fantastic, he is has the boat skipper, BBQ chef, fishing hand etc etc. Some of us went for a swim and on the swing that Jamie can put out on the side of the Barbary. What great fun. A wonderful asset on Lake Taupo, a must do when visiting the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CascadesLakefront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Muti tasking can be a lot of fun, please dont tell my wife i can do this. I enjoyed your group and glad to hear you had a ball.
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent way to see the lake”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We took the 5pm trip with BBQ on a clear, hot day and had a great time. Even though the boat was full with around 20 passengers, it still felt roomy and the captain/owner goes out of his way to make sure everyone has a great trip. Highly recommend this, particularly as its not expensive at all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetourist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Owner at Sail Barbary, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
A full boat can be a lot of fun, we are in fact licensed to carry 28 but i limit my boat to 20 to ensure all on board have a good time and dont feel crowded. Thanks for the review
Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Barbary also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Sail Barbary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing