We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Power”
Review of Aratiatia Rapids

Aratiatia Rapids
Ranked #3 of 69 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
205 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Awesome Power”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I had read about the opening of the dam gates, and that the rapids were used in one of the new Hobbit films. We arrived about 9:30 and checked out the two viewing locations. The first is about 5 minutes from the parking lot and the second is about a 10 minute walk. We settled on the first one and about eight minutes before 10:00 the first siren went off. This was followed by three more sirens when the gates started to open. The water seems to fill one canyon before it overflows to the next but before long the whole gorge below us was filled with roaring water. The gates remained open for about ten minutes. This was fun and free.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    255
    46
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic thrill”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Better than Huka Jet. Really good - we have done this several times and never get tired of it. Recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glynis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing sight”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It might pay to check that the gates are operating. On our first visit, there was a malfunction and they were not opening. Fortunately, we had time to come back the next day and see this splendid sight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DADD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow from little to lots”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We turned up for the 10 am opening o the flood gets and was awesome to see the power of water ( opens 10,12 and 2)... Highly recommend to watch the pool of water look like the rocks are moving!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nzbanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“What a rush!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

They release the dams here 3-4 times a day, resulting in what it claims to be the fastest flowing rapids in the world. It's a truly awesome experience. The second Hobbit film has a scene filmed here where the dwarves and hobbits get in to barrels and launch themselves down the rapids. It would be the ride of a lifetime!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarlEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aratiatia Rapids also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Aratiatia Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing