We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely romantic stay”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here on our whirlwind tour of the North Island thermal area for one night. Check-in was warm and welcoming. Our room was lovely - spacious and comfortable. The icing on the cake was the thermal pool on our private outdoor terrace, filled with lovely hot water from 400 metres below ground. Bottle of wine, cheese platter and the stars made for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: We loved the downstairs courtyard room with thermal pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    62
    24
    2
    0
See reviews for
77
159
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The king studio rooms were very well equipped. Very comfortable beds and a lovely spacious covered balcony. Simon the owner looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. Every channel available on the TV and the WIFI was fast and reliable. Will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to everyone. Some of the best accommodation we have ever stayed in around the world. Only possible improvement would be a bigger pool as a bit small for a swim.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs king suite for great views and no noise from adjacent rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoReardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here while travelling up the north island, you pay a little more but we had a spa room and sat drinking wine under the stars in our own private hot tub, it was perfect. All of the items in the room were of a high standard and loads of catering equipment which was helpful.

Cant wait to return

Room Tip: Choose the spa rooms they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needabreak007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I contacted Baycrest with a heap of requests for a big family get together weekend. We needed family rooms, twin rooms, adjoining rooms, entertainment for kids and space for around 26 people to gather. Nothing was a problem. The rooms were perfect and the heated pool and bar were the best of all - children entertained all afternoon while adults sat together and caught up. Friendly, welcoming service and the rooms really spacious and well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was our 2nd stay and not disappointed. Nicely appointed spacious comfortable rooms that are lovely and warm. Even the tiles in the bathroom were warm underfoot. We had an upstairs room with a balcony and a good view of the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed in the downstairs room with the tub outside. It was so relaxing! Take bubble bath & have a bubble bath outside! Romantical! The room was big & very clean. Very comfy bed. Not far from town center so could easily walk into town about 20 minutes I would guess.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Thank you for the friendly service. Good value for money, close to the shops and restaurants, but out of range from noise and traffic. We only stayed for 1 night, but wish we could stay longer. Lovely spacious, clean apartments with everything needed and more. The spa pool just outside the room was very private and relaxing. Some of the carparks where a bit narrow, so we struggled to get in and out with our car, but at least they have off street parking for free. So, other than that, we can't complain. Highly recommended and we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZanelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Property: Baycrest Lodge
Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing