We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. ”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

It's very hard to fault this hotel. Great spacious room with fantastic views, private balcony, spotlessly clean, friendly helpful host. Our new favorite in Taupo. We'll be back for sure! Those that rated it average are clearly very hard to please folk!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bchbumsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Taupo didn't turn on its best weather for us, but it didn't matter with the wonderful swimming pool, comfortable self-serve bar and lovely room with great views. We stayed for four nights and really appreciated the quiet, the cleanliness and the easy access to Taupo, both lake and township.
We had two trips out on the lake and caught 11 fish - we even had to throw some back! A great time.in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Baycrest Lodge 12th January. We had a Super \king studio with spa. Room was excellent with view over Lake Taupo. Room was clean with a great shower. The staff were very friendly - especially Cynthia - hope she had a good Birthday party!
Would definitely recommend this place and if ever we came back this way this is where we would stay.

There was also a thermal pool and bbq area to use.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P eter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My eleven year old daughter and I had a girls week away recently and She choose Taupo over any NZ location based on the thermally heated rock pool. We always stay at Baycrest when in Taupo if possible, note you often have to book well in advance during holiday season, and love it. This time we had a studio unit with great Lake views, which was perfect for us. When all four of us travel we prefer the family unit with hot tub so we can spread out. The rooms are clean, beds comfy, the TV has a DVD player so the kids can bring their favourite DVDs from home and the staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We love visiting Baycrest at least once or twice a year. The highlight is the thermal fed hot pool, but the accommodation is also very pleasing and provides everything we need. It is also very convenient as the lake and shops are close by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I decided on a quick weekend away and have just had 2 very comfortable nights at this Motel. Great view from our room No 9. Nice and clean and great shower. I would highly recommend this place and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

To bathe under the stars in your own secluded courtyard was the highlight of our short stay. This hotel is a little tired compared to others we have enjoyed in Taupo and we were a little disappointed that our request for a late checkout was reluctantly set at 10.30 am. We would not choose to stay again as there is a huge high quality selection in Taupo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 68 in Taupo
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#12 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing