We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.. Fantastic management, location and rooms fantastic!”
Review of Baycrest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baycrest Lodge
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Upon checking in I knew I had selected the right place. The owners are fantastic.. I was here for the Taupo Ironman as as all athletes are was concerned about the location and quietness of the property but this place exceeded all expectations, exceptionally clean, great views and modern!
I will be back!

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayoneonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had gone for our Honeymoon and stayed in Baycrest, Taupo for 3 nights. We had booked the room with a private pool. It was amazing, the private pool is highly recommended for couples. The water is just warm enough. Since its outdoor, you will need a full wash of the tub as a lot of insects come in! The location is not the best as its a a little far from town, and you can only see the lake if you are on the top floor. Did not try the food so no comments on that. But worth staying there only if you take the Private Thermal Pool Room.

Room Tip: Have the Room with the Private Thermal Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nishant982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

we stayed here for 1 night over the weekend. The room was spotless, large, and comfortable with an amazing view of the lake. The swimming pool was a bonus after a day out on the water. We could not fault this place. Will definitely go back again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2flyingkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent 3 nights in this delightful motel. Wonderful views over the Great Lake. Rooms are clean, well fitted out, a great powerful shower and a nice semi- enclosed balcony area which was useful as it got a bit windy in the evenings. A lovely pool too. We ordered breakfast in our room one morning, and were not disappointed. Walking distance, just, from the town centre along a lovely beach/lakeside board walk. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Susysmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed in lots of Motels at Taupo and found this one had great outdoor features.
We had a downstairs family unit with a hot tub outside. The hot tub was amazing and in our outside courtyard we even had a small view of the lake which was nice. The pool was also a highlight for the kids. In saying that the photos are deceiving and it is smaller than you think.
The room itself was just ok. Dark and tucked under the stairs and noisy from the upstairs unit. For a short stay it was ok but I would prefer to pay more and stay on the waterfront. Still you get what you pay for and it was cheaper than where we normally stay and the manager was friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pldek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our trip thru New Zealand. Very clean and very comfortable, able to sit on balcony and look at the Lake which was brilliant. Close to the town and able to walk to restaurants along the front. Would I go back, YES.

Room Tip: Very easy to find and east access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Ideally located just on the edge of Taupo two minutes from the lakeside and walks in either direction. We stayed for 7 nights in one of the first floor rooms with views over the lake, the sunsets were to die for. The room was very comfortable, well appointed and well serviced. Absolutely no faults, excellent choice for anyone passing through or wanting to explore the activities and surrounding area.

Room Tip: If you want a lake view first floor, if you want a hot tub ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
#12 of 68 in Taupo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baycrest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baycrest Lodge

Address: 79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#10 Family Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £100 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Baycrest Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baycrest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Baycrest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing