We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
northants
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and and compared to other motels we have stayed in as part of the golden chain found this one average. A dated room and kitchen and not quite up to the standard we have experienced before in both presentation and cleanliness. However staff were helpful and only a five minutiae walk from town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shevnorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    108
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
112
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the family room, with two rooms + separate lounge. It was very nicely presented. I appreciated the hot shower, the nice towels and the light switch in the room can be turned off from the bed. The self contained kitchen was useful and the free wifi. Very friendly staff topped our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greganne09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were three people staying for a conference, and were very happy with all the facilities provided by the Acapulco. Kitchen was adequate, new bathroom a pleasure to use. Very handy to have laundry facilities. Owners very helpful and accommodating. Free wifi an absolute bonus.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Great place for a few days away as a couple.

Our unit was immaculate, staff were friendly and helpful. Having our own personal whirl pool in our unit made it a great getaway for my husband and I.

Units were well appointed and modern.

Room Tip: We were in a room close to the road, we did not notice road noise or any other disturbances that aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at the Acapulco Motor Inn for three nights in May, the owners were very friendly and helpful.
Our room had a reverse cycle air conditioner or "heat Pump" as they call it in New Zealand, this made our stay warm and cosy.
Beds were comfortable and we had great nights sleep.
The location was excellent with a very short stroll to Lake Taupo.
We were very close to shops and restaurants, and never very far when driving to the many attractions the region has to offer.
We enjoyed our stay in Taupo, and would have liked to stay much longer if time would allow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WAPerthFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I found this place new-ish, modern and very clean. The room had an airconditioner (which cools as well as heats) rather than a simple heater, which is the norm at this price point (I walked in and paid NZD102). The plumbing was up to date and the appliances all seemed new-ish. Wifi was completely free. The manager was polite but rather quiet. One thing that would really help is a suitcase rack, which will avoid having to place your suitcase on the floor (there was nowhere else).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Auckland New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The owners were very welcoming and helpful. They gave maps and useful information and ensured I received a message left, was given to me straight away. The offered discount card to de Bretts Thermal Pools which was great. The room was nice and clean and the shower great. The kitchen and tea/coffee supplies great. A table and chairs to sit at rather than the bench seats would have suited me better. My two nights were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#22 of 69 in Taupo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#19 of 69 in Taupo
180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#16 of 69 in Taupo
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Property: Acapulco Motor Inn
Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing