We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Taupo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acapulco Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acapulco Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good stay in Taupo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Excellent location steps away from the lake. Should even be convenient for people without a car. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Massive spa bath in the room. Nice cooking utensils too.

The dryer at the laundry was very dirty and did not work properly. Luckily we were there on a sunny day so we could just air our washing on the clothing lines. Free internet available but very slow.

Recommended but I would like to try somewhere else before book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peng Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    109
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
86
113
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We showed up after having a lovely stay in Napier and a 2 hour drive. The owner could only mutter the words,"sign the bottom. All you have to do is sign the bottom".
The beds feel like they are 30 years old, and the carpet is tired. We were able to use the BBQ which was good, and there are sufficient cooking utensils in the place. Only a 5 min walk to the lake.
It felt like the motor in basically cost 2x as much as it is worth, but it is the busy season so there is a supply vs demand price gouge you need to factor for.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wellingtonviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

With slim pickings during the summer months for last minute bookings and needing somewhere to crash between auckland and Wellington, I found this place online. And I wish I stayed longer. Close to the town centre, but not on the crazy, speeding main road, but close to the lake too. Clean, set up well, everything you need, plus you can cook too, carpark right outside your door, huge (and I mean HUGE) hot tub/bath. I'm a fan.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diya_nz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed here for 1 night and found it to be very clean, spacious, affordable and fully equipped with everything you need, the bonus was the jacuzzi bathtub! The owners were extremely helpful and accommodating which makes all the difference when you are away from home. 5 stars.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Annabel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meeka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Very helpful and friendly couple running the motel. Very clean and modern unit, luxurious bathroom. Good location, 1 minute walk to lake, 5 minute walk to town. BBQ facilities available to make use of the good weather and late sunset. One minus, pull out soda beds some of our group had to use were extremely uncomfortable, normal beds however were very comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Acapulco Motor Inn was a very good motel, modern, clean, comfortable, quiet, just a short walk to town, - we had a two bedroom unit, plenty of room, with on site parking, enjoyed our stay, will visit this motel again when next in Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The management were very helpful, I was provided a free bed. The motel is clean and the location is good. I stayed there for two nights, I enjoyed the spa and the location. The hotel is a humble hotel. But I recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfsbender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Twin Peaks Lakeside Inn
0.2 mi away
Ascot Motor Inn
Ascot Motor Inn
#22 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Executive Motel
Executive Motel
#18 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Motor Lodge
Prince Motor Lodge
#16 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#30 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Motor Inn

Property: Acapulco Motor Inn
Address: 19 Rifle Range Road | Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acapulco Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acapulco Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing