We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gold Standard”
Review of Huka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huka Lodge
Ranked #3 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This was our fifth or sixth visit to Huka Lodge - a destination we choose when we have something REALLY special to celebrate, a birthday with a zero, or a personal achievement of some sort. It is the most wonderful hotel and we have NEVER been disappointed. The staff are so professional, friendly, capable, informed, easy on the eye ... just fantastic!
The setting is exceptional, on the banks of the wonderful fast-flowing river, where swans struggle to stay afloat, and ducks stagger ashore to visit the edge of your terrace. The foot is well-thought out and stunningly presented, amazing breakfasts and stunning dinners, with far too many canapes beforehand!!!

We had to leave before lunch on our last day, and the kitchen made us the most wonderful picnic to take with us - more than we needed and delicious.

My husband had a relaxing massge from Jo, and he has become an addict - needs one every day, apparently.

Taupo is a worthwhile desitination, and Huka Lodge is more than you could hope for.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellerholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I visited Huka lodge with my husband on our honeymoon last November. We debated a lot whether going to a lodge was going to be worth the money and then also whether Huka was the one to choose. Ultimately we decided to go with Huka since we had heard so much about it and it was the oldest and most iconic lodge of NZ.
We couldn't have made a better decision because our stay at Huka lodge was the highlight of my honeymoon. We drove into the stunning landscaped gardens (they've won an award for their landscaping) and entered the main lodge through the reception. We were instantly recognized and made to sit by the fireplace with welcome drinks. They sensed we were tired from our journey and offered to serve lunch immediately at one of their tables in the verandah (by another fireplace). After a wonderful lunch of salad, tomato risotto and garlicbread we were taken to our accomodations. Mr. Rudy, the kind host, informed us that we had been upgraded to the Owners Cottage. My husband and I were happy with the news but didn't really know what to expect. As we walked with Mr Rudy he told us about the history of the lodge and also about the neighbouring area. We walked into the Owner's Cottage which is a MAGNIFICENT mansion on one edge of the property. It had 4 bedrooms, 4 walk in closets, 4 bathrooms, 4 outdoor verdandahs outside each bedroom along with a huge living room, fully stocked kitchen, den, infinity pool, heated Jacuzzi and own private section of the riverbed. Everything was done up beautifully and tastefully with large french windows allowing plenty of sunlight through. It was like a dream come true!
Over the next two days we thoroughly enjoyed the house, relaxing in the outdoor jacuzzi, watching movies in the den, enjoying breakfast being brought to our room, picnic baskets packed for us to take out into the gardens, getting massages. All of this was part of the package that we had bought. Every evening we went to the main reception for cocktail hour and then our private dinner in a different location in the property. We stepped out of the lodge for precisely one hour to see the Huka falls and I immediately wanted to come back to it. The staff was courteous, sweet & so helpful, it was a pleasure interacting with them. They were so attentive that they noticed that my husband had a single malt on the first night with his dinner and offered him the same on the next night.
Another great thing at the lodge was the food. It was nothing short of spectacular. Amazing menu per day and they were SO accommodating to my husband who was vegetarian, they went out of their way and even brought him a vegetarian menu. In fact, we travelled to Fiji after Huka Lodge and being so pampered here completely ruined our food experience in Fiji.
It's truly a once in a lifetime experience and we wholeheartedly recommend to other couples. Thanks Huka Lodge for making our honeymoon such a great experience. Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for a picnic basket to packed to enjoy it in the grounds on a sunny afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasreenmayal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

All you could expect loved it all, 5 star all the way!

Room Tip: All is wonderfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Lovely lodge with great service. I felt at home and very relaxed, the surrounds are stunning and such a lovely part of the world. Beautiful

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitlock22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

This resort is the type of place other hotels and resorts dream they want to be when they grow up. Stayed there first in a lodge suite in March and we went back in June we were so impressed this time in the owners cottage. This Only inspired us to book again next year. The food is phenominal, as is the wine list and the owners cottage is just pure luxury and an unforgettable experience ! A really good place to go in winer if you love open fireplaces ( 3 wood fires in the owners cottage living areas plus one gas one in each bedroom) winter is also a lot less expensive as well. If you are flying from Australia Emirates is the best option because it's an Int'l class cabin and flights are good value. Air NZ is cheaper but not as comfy ! If you wanna dial up the wow factor you can get a helicopter from Auckland airport to Huka for about $4k AUD. Same price if you want a light jet to land at Taupo. Otherwise you can get cheap Air NZ connection to Taupo. Dont fly to Rotarua because it's over an hours drive to Huka whereas Taupo airport is 5 mins drive to Huka lodge. Huka staff pick you up from Taupo for free ! If you want to live like royalty this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Huka Lodge and found it very overrated. Being used to the top quality of restaurants in Melbourne we found their food very disapointing. The seafood was so undercooked it was slimmy. You are only told of the two choices for mains when having pre dinners drinks and not informed of any alternative unless you complain.

The grounds at Huka Lodge are spectacular and the dinning facilities for romantic dinners are great. Most of the staff were very good but we found some were cold and distant.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional, but you do pay a premium cost so they should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We booked two rooms at Huka Lodge and it was a great experience. The welcome was fantastic, out of the car and straight on to the terrace for a complimentary glass of wine or bubbles. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the views were excellent. I enjoyed being able to choose where we would dine in the evening and to feel like you were the only guests in the resort.

Pre dinner started with a person playing the bagpipes and summoning guests to the pre-dinner drinks and nibbles - a nice way to start the evening. Unfortunately dinner is where it failed to live up to expectation s - the food was quite bland and the presentation was average, the service continued to be exceptionally good however. Breakfast was excellent and we had a lovely lunch in a secluded spot. The staff and the location make this place great. They just need to work on the food.

Room Tip: Use FHR if you have Amex Platinum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.5 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
3.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.6 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
4.8 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huka Lodge

Address: Huka Falls Road | PO Box 95, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £1,276 - £1,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Huka Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huka Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing