We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huka Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Clearwater Motor Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baycrest Lodge(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Lake Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wairakei Resort Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lake Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
268
30
9
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
30
9
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine cellarwaikato riverfly fishingprivate diningtrophy roomnew zealanddegustation menualan pye cottagepetit foursthe studydining locationfast flowing rivercape kidnappersthe general managerexquisite placemanicured lawnsunderstated luxury
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2006

The Huka is all the reviews say and more - beautiful rooms, food, service and ambiance. I feel like you need a little more activities or help on what to do as we got lost bushwalking but that could be us! I loved the dinner outside by the fire and in the cellar. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EK201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

We stayed one night at Huka Lodge and wished we had time to stay a second night. Rooms are not cheap at NZ$1400 per night but we felt we received value with exceptional service, food and a very large room right along the river. My husband was able to fish right outside our room. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but they are available 24 hours. the optional tours / activities are a bit pricey and could probably be gotten cheaper if booked directly but if you are already paying that much for the room why not let them do the work? breakfast and dinner (included in the room rate) were excellent as was the selection of wines during the pre-dinner drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LP20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

My husband and I stayed at Huka Lodge in August.
The location was stunning, right on the river with manicured lawns and gardens.
The service was sensational, from the moment we arrived we felt like visiting royalty. Most of the staff are not from New Zealand, and although this made their local knowledge less than it may otherwise have been, the level of service was outstanding in every other aspect.
One of the highlights was the food, great choices at breakfast and a five course dinner every night made lunch almost irrelevant, and being able to choose our dinner location was also fantastic.
Winter was a wonderful time to go as the underfloor heating and gas fireplace made our room extremely cosy.
We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sandle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2006

While visiting NZ for a family celebration we did a mini central North Island trip. Huka Lodge was my Husbands selection for his birthday treat. We looked at many options for an exclusive upmarket retreat and Huka Lodge passed all our requirements. The hardest issue when choosing somewhere beautiful to stay, is our adorable 2 year old daughter......there are not many adult retreats which welcome children. Even from our first phone call, staff at Huka Lodge made us feel welcomed and that our daughter would be treated as much as a valued guest as we would be.........and that's exactly what we experienced.
Paige had her own room and the babysitter took care of her while we indulged in a perfect evening.
When booking we were asked if it was a special occasion and given many choices on where to dine. We had a romantic dinner outside on the deck with a lovely log fire. Champagne greeted us, in our room on arrival. We could not fault Huka Lodge at all.
The country setting is gorgeous...the Waikato River, beautifully maintained gardens.......the lodge rooms............cuisine. Staff are excellent.
Sure it is pricey but I believe we received exceptional service and we only paid for our wine during dinner everything else was included.( yes the wine is very pricey)
Our daughter stayed for free....this included her babysitting cost.
I would love to return and stay for 2 nights, so I can have more time to indulge in this gorgeous retreat.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fussymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2006

The stunning location of this property only serves to enhance the informal beauty of the lodge itself. If you are seeking warm and professional service from a staff that seems to genuinely care about you as an individual, you'll find it here in plenty.

Upon arrival you will be greeted, shown around the luxurious main lodge and then escorted to your suite. The pathway leading to the rooms is fairly utilitarian, but once you reach your accommodation, you will find the interiors beautifully elegant and understated and the views breathtaking. The bathrooms are beautiful too.

My only negative comment, if I had to find one, would be that the shower in our bathroom was small & rather dark and the water pressure not all it could have been. I also ended up with a sore neck due to the overstuffed pillows - they really should offer a selection. These were only minor irritations though.

Throw open the French doors in your room, light the fire and lie back on the butter-soft chaise with a good book, looking up now and then to watch the Waikato River flowing swiftly past only metres from your room. The landscaping is simple and does not interfere with the natural surroundings. Bliss!

Beauty aside, this lodge stood out to us for a couple of reasons.

Firstly the many and varied dining options. It was nice to sit at the big communal dining table on our first night & enjoy the company of the other guests, all of whom were interesting and thoroughly unpretentious, but we also had what was without doubt the most memorable meal of our lives outside on the terrace the next evening. Our private setting for 4 had been perfectly created down to the smallest detail and, combined with excellent food and impeccable service, really made the night one to remember. Our guests were treated like royalty. Try to book the wine cellar in advance if you have a party of a few people...

Secondly, unlike lodges like Blanket Bay and Grasmere, children (well behaved) are genuinely welcomed and happily catered for. Our 5-year-old son was adored and spoilt rotten the entire stay. He had a wonderful time, and enjoyed chatting to the chef as he ate dinner at the breakfast bar in the company of his babysitter, while we relaxed over cocktails and dinner. We were asked each morning what we would like him to have for dinner that night, and no request was too much trouble.

Sure, its pricey, but if you have the money just go - and make sure you take the time to appreciate how very lucky you are! Who cares what nationality the staff is? If you want to save some dollars, make sure you organise your own tours and sightseeing. The lodge quoted approx 4 times more than we eventually paid for a private charter boat for trout fishing.

I've posted this review after an extensive trip through the US and Canada staying in some of the very best accommodation they supposedly have to offer. We had a great time, but none of the lodges we stayed at compared to Huka.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews