We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lakeside Option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was just simply an excellent stay. Their lakefront location is fantastic, and having your own private balcony to sit on and gaze over it even better. Our room was clean, tidy and modernised and elegant - absolutely no complaints there. The main restaurant and bar was also very nice to sit in, though more long couches would be great!

Yes, the place has a funny layout in that all the rooms have exterior doors. Don't let that put you off - the place is quite, quite nice and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear TheCushNZ - thank you so much for sharing your lovely review. Our property began in 1968 with many extensions and refurbishments since, the long lakefront location adds to the 'funny' layout - but, we dare not complain with this magic location as you say!.
best wishes - hope you are able to return. Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights I wish it had been 10. It is by the lake and a beautiful place to stay. This was our first time to NZ and we couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. The restaurant was very good, the oysters especially nice. The staff were helpful and very pleasant.The rooms are very spacious and the beds beautiful and soft.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Dear Julie M - so pleased to read that you enjoyed your saty so much. Yes we are very fortunate to have this great location - very easy to enjoy being at work also.
hopefully you will be able to return for those extra nights stay next time. Best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We had a really pleasant stay here recently. We had dinner in their Edgewater restaurant which was first class. The breakfast was also top marks. Will defintiely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest - thank you for your great comments - great to hear we will welcome you back again as a return guest.
best wishes
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Haha - in all seriousness the breakfast deserves a special mention, the food available so so damn good I ate too much and was full for the whole day. My wife enjoyed it also and the views from the restaurant were so nice.
We arrived late in the evening after a delayed flight into Wellington and after the 4hr drive we were very agitated and tired however as soon as we arrived the lovely gent on reception and another lady put us straight at ease. They offered to get us into the restaurant even though it was literally packing up for the night but we declined and ordered room service which was also very very good. We were so looked after it was a shame we only stayed one night but the room was world class and the whole place screams class. Thank you to all the team and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Dan and Sarah - what a lovely review, thank you for sharing your experience. Breakfast sounds delicious - hope you were here on one of the beautiful still mornings we have - one of my favourite times to look out over the lake. I will pass on your comments about our friendly team - they always appreciate it.
Cheers
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights and were given a beautiful spacious room overlooking the lake. We couldn't have asked for better. The room was immaculate. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and seemed to want to oblige. Even free wifi in the lounge area. If we return to New Zealand again the Millennium Hotel wil have to be on our agenda. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: It has got to be a Lake View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest - it is so rewarding to read your praises. I hope that you managed to experience many moods of our beautiful lake setting during your longer stay. Thank you for sharing and we do look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at Manuels as part of a conference group.Our rooms were well appointed with very nice decor and furniture.Modern bathrooms and huge flatscreen tvs!Plenty of selection at breakfast and efficient staff.Close to the city centre,hot pools (they do have a heated pool and grotto) and superb views of the lake and mountains,very pretty at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwikidsTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear Guest - thank you for your lovely comments - sounds like you enjoyed one sof the lovely still evenings when the lights from town reflect on the water - hope to see you next conference.
cheers Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Millenium as part of our honeymoon. We arrived earlier than we expected and the reception very kindly stored our luggage, flagged our room as a priority for cleaning and took our mobile number to text us when it was ready. We received a text within an hour. On checking in, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Junior Suite - Queen because it was our honeymoon. The room was beautiful and the view simply stunning. We ended up ordering room service for two nights because it was just so peaceful and relaxing to spend time on the balcony overlooking the lake. We also did the Tongariro crossing while staying in Taupo and the bus collects you and drops you off right outside the hotel (which is a huge bonus given that it collects you at 5.30am!) The location of the hotel is such that it is easier to get into town by car but we did walk in one night and half of the walk is right beside the lake so it is a pleasant stroll. We really didn't want to leave Millenium and would definitely stay there again if we returned to Taupo in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Congratulations firstly, and thank you for choosing to spend this special time with us. I am very happy to read you were not disappointed in any way and best wishes from our team for many happy times ahead. Kind regards - Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#6 of 68 in Taupo
2,229 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#2 of 68 in Taupo
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £106 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing