We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Very enjoyable stay literally on the beach the set up is a little motel like but its location and the extremely helpful staff more than make up for it.

I was here on business / pleasure and with the sun shinning in the New Zealand summer I could not see any other resort that I woul dhave preferred to be in around lake Taupo.

Room Tip: I stayed in 804 and would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Brian B - thank you for sharing your lovely experience - happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful location.
The building style relates to making the best of our fabulous long lake edge situation to give 43 rooms the wonderful views. It is also the maximum height allowed and the best way of providing car parking requirement.
We are very proud of our happy friendly staff so I will pass your comments on - thank you
kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We booked in last minute after another hotel let us down and it was definitely our silver lining. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful and even set up a table outside by the lake for us for dinner. The food was outstanding - certainly worth the money - and the views were just stunning.

The family room was perfect for us and happily accommodated the four adult family members. If we didn't have to get back home we'd have stayed for a week!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank AndiT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear AndiT14 - receiving reviews such as this is our valued reward and so appreciated - thank you for sharing. I am so pleased you were able to enjoy your dinner by our beautiful lake, maybe next time you can stay longer ! best regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Waterfront hotel and in all respects is a lovely place to stay.
They have a first class restaurant of quality! Perfect location lakeside and nicely appointed. Lovely food and really friendly service.
Worth it for either the location or food but both makes it a must.
They have a warm water pool (36degC), a little gym and really nice large well appointed rooms.
The only negative thing was that some rooms didn't have a safe and the toilet seats were cheapo. Minor things really.
Definitely recommended.
Paul

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buster953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Buster953 - thank you for your feedback - very pleased that you enjoyed our wonderful location and restaurant. appreciate your comments about no safe in rooms and can advise that since we have changed a lot of furniture in rooms in the last month we now have the plan of replacing suitable safes where possible. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to NZ and Taupo in the future. best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Manuels for two nights over new years. Check in was fast and efficient. As we had not stayed before Ricky showed us to our room. What a fantastic room. The first thing you notice is the super king bed. The room had everything we needed plus more. The bathroom was a great size with a corner spa bath and a shower with a stack of water pressure behind it. Although not a lake front room that was not a worry as there are plenty of places in the hotel to look over the lake. The pool is great for a quick swim and then there is also an indoor spa and sauna. We ate in the restaurant at a window table and also had drinks in the lobby bar both nights at a lake view table. The service from every staff member that we experienced was exceptional.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Phillip B - thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful experience - it is great to read you positive comments and will pass onto Ricky and staff as I know they love to hear this appreciation . hope to welcome you back for a future stay - please do refer to being a return guest.
best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Taupo is a "tourist town" and so has lots on offer. This place is one of the best. If you stay for 5 nights (as we did in December 2013) you can get a very attractive rate. The restaurant is very good. They even cooked one of the 3 trout we caught in the lake on which the hotel is situated.
Brad the desk clerk was very helpful. The restaurant staff were friendly and prompt. The swimming pool, though small, was clean and accessible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE_NIAGARA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear DAVE_NIAGARA2 thank you for your compliments - I am very happy to read that we made your stay so enjoyable - especially also that you were able to catch a trout and enjoy that while you were here. I will pass on to Brad and Chef. Hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel, lakefront with a stunning view. There's a path in front of the hotel which allows me to exercise everyday. Nice swimming pool, warm enough to swim at night time. Amazing restaurant with delicious food. The buffet breakfast and dinner were awesome and waiters were very pleasant. This hotel has a great service, the room was also nice, tidy and clean. The only problem is that the spa pool is a little bit too hot but no other problems apart from that. This is a great hotel with a reasonable price, we enjoyed our stay and we would definitely visit again. I would strongly recommend to stay at this hotel when visiting taupo.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Shredded_Shrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear DragonRaider - thank you for sharing such positive lovely feedback - great that you enjoyed our location and facilities - we look forward to your return one day - Best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stunning location on the lakeside. Beautiful hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Great restaurant. Fantastic views in a wonderful country. We stayed here for our anniversary and it was the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinandjulie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

dear martinandjulie - I am so pleased that we helped make you special time so enjoyable - thank you for sharing this with readers and us - hope you have the opportunity to return to NZ and Taupo in the future. we wish you many more happy anniversaries. Cheers Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 68 in Taupo
2,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £101 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing