We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have been staying at Manuels for approx 20 years now and usually stay in room 814.
Such a nice surprise to find "our room" beautifully renovated. As always staff were great.
It will always be our favourite place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0hn0brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear jOhnObrien - Happy to hear that you enjoyed our latest refurbishment - thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    194
    59
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
364
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for two days at the end of January. A beautiful facility very well taken care off in a great location. Excellent service all the way around. We just loved our experience. It was the place we liked the most during our month's stay in New Zealand.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank BoobieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear BoobieBoy - thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience here with us and readers. It is always lovely to read the positive and I am happy that you enjoyed our wonderful location as much as we do. Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was built in the 1970's and based on the room we had, it still shows in the chocolate hued decor, bar fridge door and dark wood, along with the tile work. Our room was very small (by far the smallest we had anywhere in NZ) and the bed was only a very bouncy double more in keeping with a 2.5 star hotel. Other areas such as the reception and restaurant had been modernised.

This hotel is also on a quite busy road with plenty of noisy trucks, but fortunately as the bedroom is furthest away from the road, the noise wasn't a real problem.

As others have also pointed out, it's quite a distance to central Taupo from this hotel, so plan ahead if you don't have a car. On the subject of cars, this hotel carpark is jammed between the hotel and the main road; the design is poor and people just park anywhere whether in front of their room or not as there are no allocated spaces. One goose in a large Audi had even parked over two spaces and just left his car there the entire time we were at this hotel.

On a positive note, the view out the window was lovely over the lake, but would have been even better if the area outside had been genuinely private space; instead it's shared with the public walking path which goes around Lake Taupo - who have also got free viewing direct into your room. Far better if you are on the first floor. Equally on the proximity front, this hotel is quite close to the Botanic Gardens which are a real show piece and have spectacular views back across the lake and the town.

Room Tip: Get one on the first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear David_and_Rose - thank you for sharing your experience - the good with the not so good.
Our location seems to over ride many other things that you were not so happy with. As you point out first level rooms provide the privacy and our larger newly decorated rooms and suites prevent the disappointment you experienced by booking the smaller studio room. I am sorry for your disappointment on this occasion and should you return to NZ would like the opportunity to welcome you back to one of the larger rooms that we have available.
Regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Right on the lake, rooms spacious with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Loved being able to have a drink outside our room watching the lake and it's bird life. This hotel however is not in the centre of Taupo so if you are looking to be able to walk to other restaurants think again about staying here. We loved the peace and had a car so it was fine.
Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and staff on duty there were a delight. So why not a five star?
1. Front desk staff- management, please do not put people on the front desk without giving them intensive training on the local area. It is great to see that you are hiring Asian nationals to help out foreign guests but please ensure that they have adequate knowledge about both locale and western expectations.
2. Wifi - why isn't it free and when you do pay why doesn't it work in certain rooms- fix this or don't charge
3. Breakfast- surely we can do better than this in the 21st century. After the first day we drove and had it elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are not keen on ducks wandering close and sometimes trying to come in to your room, chose a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear JF3000 - thank you for your feedback - all points taken seriously for improvement and guest satisfaction. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and dinner experience. Wifi connections are being addressed as we find any problems with our connections. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just came back from spending three nights at the Millennium Hotel. Excellent location, the kids loved being able to go and feed the ducks on the lake front. The staff were very helpful, especially the breakfast staff - nothing was too much of a hassle for them. We had an upstairs room so had amazing views of lake Taupo. Kids also loved playing in the pool. Check in and check out was a breeze, all done in a matter of a couple of minutes! Will definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the staff for a great break away.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear KCS72 - Lovely to read that the children enjoyed our facilities while you were able to enjoy our location and views - we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Pro's

• Hotel is well situated right on the lake. It is so close that ducks come in the room if you are not careful
• Staff is helpful

Con’s

• The outside look quite dated and motel-y. A throw-back to the 90's. The décor does not seem to have changed for last 10-15 years. Expected better for the price - $355 NZD. We moved to Hilton Lake Taupo after 1 night. Same price, larger room and much more modern and pleasant. Of course, we were not on the lake but we didn’t mind.
• For $350 NZD, they could have kicked in free internet. We were given only 20 min free. Even the rules are a throw back to the 90’s!
• Not an impressive breakfast offering

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, but not if you don't like ducks! Also there is a walking path around l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Moonray1- we appreciate your feedback and thank you for bringing these points to our attention as this enables us to plan future development to gain complete guest satisfaction.
We have many room types in the hotel and for reasons I am unable to know, it appears you were in our smallest studio room, there are much bigger and newly decorated rooms available and are dependent on holiday and event periods. Our rates are indicative of the boutique size and wonderful location of our hotel. I truly am sorry we were unable to please you as guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to us. Sincerely Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We arrived at the hotel but were not impressed with the guy on reception who was not the most helpful. There was no one to help with luggage we were a party of five and had quite a bit. Our rooms though were perfect with a fab view of the lake. We're not impressed though with the restaurant in the hotel and were surprised to be charged for the nuts and olives with our pre drinks. Also the charges for wifi were quite costly when you can go into the town and get it for free. The location and the view of the lake however was beautiful

Room Tip: Rooms with a view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiechoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Auntychoi - Thank you for your review - it is of utmost importance for us to know any flaws so we may address to prevent any future disappointments.
Firstly I apologize to you sincerely. I am most upset and surprised that one of our team has let us down in this way, as you will see consistently the opposite reviews about our friendly happy staff. Please know i will look into this matter and address. I can not comment on restaurant review because I do not know what the problem was - bar has complimentary chippies and there are side dish snacks and nuts available to purchase - I am sorry if this was not explained properly at the time. Thank you for the positive and pleased to know you enjoyed our fabulous location. Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#10 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing