We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Zealand tour.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #8 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at this waterfront hotel on the shores of Lake Taupo. The hotel has a pool and sauna, although swimming in the lake was lovely. The hotel has two award winning restaurants we enjoyed very good service & food with many local dishes.
The hotel is ideally located for lakeside walks and opportunities for many water sports. The Huka falls & many attractions are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear John H - very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here while you were in NZ - I do hope that everything else was great for your tour. Thank you for sharing the lovely comments. Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed there at the start of February and had a great time.The service was of a high standard and the staff were courteous. It is a wonderful place to enjoy the surroundings of Taupo and the walk around the edge of the lake is superb.
The pool at the hotel was warm and the service in the restaurant was of a high standard.We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear GlynneC - thank you for sharing your positive comments and so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to welcome you back in near future - kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I spent a lovely couple of days at the Lake with my mum and stayed at Manuels for the first time. Mum had stayed there often over the years and this has always been her favourite. Everything was great. Rooms were clean and comfy and newly renovated, and the staff went out of there way to please us. The trout we caught on the lake was cooked up beautifully by the chef, which was a bonus for us. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear LuckyShepherd - So pleased that you enjoyed your stay - views - room and lucky trout catch.
thank you and kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We have been staying at Manuels for approx 20 years now and usually stay in room 814.
Such a nice surprise to find "our room" beautifully renovated. As always staff were great.
It will always be our favourite place to stay in Taupo.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hn0brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear jOhnObrien - Happy to hear that you enjoyed our latest refurbishment - thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed there for two days at the end of January. A beautiful facility very well taken care off in a great location. Excellent service all the way around. We just loved our experience. It was the place we liked the most during our month's stay in New Zealand.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank BoobieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear BoobieBoy - thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience here with us and readers. It is always lovely to read the positive and I am happy that you enjoyed our wonderful location as much as we do. Best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel was built in the 1970's and based on the room we had, it still shows in the chocolate hued decor, bar fridge door and dark wood, along with the tile work. Our room was very small (by far the smallest we had anywhere in NZ) and the bed was only a very bouncy double more in keeping with a 2.5 star hotel. Other areas such as the reception and restaurant had been modernised.

This hotel is also on a quite busy road with plenty of noisy trucks, but fortunately as the bedroom is furthest away from the road, the noise wasn't a real problem.

As others have also pointed out, it's quite a distance to central Taupo from this hotel, so plan ahead if you don't have a car. On the subject of cars, this hotel carpark is jammed between the hotel and the main road; the design is poor and people just park anywhere whether in front of their room or not as there are no allocated spaces. One goose in a large Audi had even parked over two spaces and just left his car there the entire time we were at this hotel.

On a positive note, the view out the window was lovely over the lake, but would have been even better if the area outside had been genuinely private space; instead it's shared with the public walking path which goes around Lake Taupo - who have also got free viewing direct into your room. Far better if you are on the first floor. Equally on the proximity front, this hotel is quite close to the Botanic Gardens which are a real show piece and have spectacular views back across the lake and the town.

Room Tip: Get one on the first floor if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear David_and_Rose - thank you for sharing your experience - the good with the not so good.
Our location seems to over ride many other things that you were not so happy with. As you point out first level rooms provide the privacy and our larger newly decorated rooms and suites prevent the disappointment you experienced by booking the smaller studio room. I am sorry for your disappointment on this occasion and should you return to NZ would like the opportunity to welcome you back to one of the larger rooms that we have available.
Regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Right on the lake, rooms spacious with plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Loved being able to have a drink outside our room watching the lake and it's bird life. This hotel however is not in the centre of Taupo so if you are looking to be able to walk to other restaurants think again about staying here. We loved the peace and had a car so it was fine.
Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and staff on duty there were a delight. So why not a five star?
1. Front desk staff- management, please do not put people on the front desk without giving them intensive training on the local area. It is great to see that you are hiring Asian nationals to help out foreign guests but please ensure that they have adequate knowledge about both locale and western expectations.
2. Wifi - why isn't it free and when you do pay why doesn't it work in certain rooms- fix this or don't charge
3. Breakfast- surely we can do better than this in the 21st century. After the first day we drove and had it elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are not keen on ducks wandering close and sometimes trying to come in to your room, chose a f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JF3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear JF3000 - thank you for your feedback - all points taken seriously for improvement and guest satisfaction. I am pleased you enjoyed our location and dinner experience. Wifi connections are being addressed as we find any problems with our connections. Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 69 in Taupo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £82 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing