We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location - could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Wonderful location right on the lakeside and ground floor rooms have direct access to the lake just a few paces away. Sunset was stunning. Location was so good we felt with hindsight we could have stayed 2 or more nights and done a day trip to Rotorua from here rather than splitting our trip between the 2 towns. We drove 1 hour or so south to the volcanic mountain park of Whakapapa where we took the ski lift up the main peak - highly recommended. The tiny airport was just 5-6mins drive away.

Our room and en suite was comfortable and stylish but there was little space for storage and luggage and our TV didn't work (probably the batteries but we weren't there long enough to bother enquiring). The small outside pool was warm as a bath and an added bonus. The dining room had a terrific view and prices looked reasonable but we took the opportunity to walk (15mins - just over 1km) to "The Ploughmans" pub which had an interesting menu (all entrees $14 and mains $25) and UK-style "specials" nights. We were there on Steak Night (steak and drink for $20) and were very happy!

Only other minor criticism of the hotel was that we had to check out for a flight before Reception opened and notices directed us through an external staircase but this only reached another locked internal door. Finally we raised the night staff by using the front doorbell.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have direct access to the lake just a few paces away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Roger V - what a shame you did not have long enough with us and in Taupo - we are very fortunate to live in this wonderful part of the world and our location certainly creates a fabulous place to work. Thank you for your praises. I do apologize for not being available to say farewell - we do offer pre check out service - sorry if we failed to advise you of that.
We hope that you enjoyed your NZ holiday in every way. Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Wow, beautiful location - not quite in town but pretty close and stunning views. Definitely made great use of the deck while there. Room was fabulous and well set out, big comfy bed and a huge tv, great view of the lake and spa bath for ultimate relaxation. Every comfort is catered for, we didn't want for anything. Staff are friendly and helpful. All facilities immaculate, my especial favourite was the grotto pool - a private pool in a created cave. The in house restaurant is amazing - we never had breakfast there as we were off out doing things but having dinner there the last night I wonder if we should have.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amrihenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear amrihenwood - thank you for sharing your happy times here with us and readers. Great feedback is always appreciated by staff as well as Chef. Hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

There is a lot cheaper accommodation in Taupo but the majority are not on the lakeside. A lot still have a lakeview but the view from your rooms and the terrace at the Millenium is totally unhindered. We stayed in a junior suite which are fabulous rooms. Spacious with bathroom and separtae washing area. well appointed and the air conditioning is most welcome. All the staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

The bar area is excellent with comfortable seating and of course the views. We did not eat in the Restaurant but many people did and all seemed very staisfied with the experience.

The one drawback is it is 3 kilometers from the main area of Taupo but the walk along the lakeside is lovely. there is also ample parking if you wish to drive in. The best parking is around the Information Centre, though make sure you park in the correct bay as they have different ones for different length stays.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the lake it is up to you to decide what standard you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear David 716, Thank you for sharing such lovely positives, it is great to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous location. It is a great walk into town but maybe a lift back back after shopping or meal
is best. Very easy quick drive though. Hope to welcome you back in future, kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was the best hotel we stayed in whilst in New Zealand. Although located about 3 kms from the Town, it was still central to many attractions. The room (617) was excellent, spacious and from the patio, led straight to the lake edge. On arrival, we were shown toour room by the receptionist and we were able to park right outside the room (a bonus when touring with a lot of luggage). Breakfast excellent and the bar was well maintained and reasonably priced (better than the UK)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wap363636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Wap 36 36 36 thank you for sharing your experience with us and readers. Great to hear that you loved our hotel and service. I shall pass onto staff.
Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The staff were great. They organised a bus to pick us up so we could do the Tongariro crossing which was fantastic.

Room had a fantastic view over the lake, huge TV screen and really comfy bed. The pool is quite small but it is a lovely little sun trap area.

We ate at the Edgewater restaurant in the hotel. I can honestly say that the lamb I had was the best I've ever tasted and well worth the money.

Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mbarnett2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Mbarnett2020 - thank you for your praises of our hotel, staff and pool. Yes the Tongariro is wonderful and I am pleased that you enjoyed that experience. I understand about the lamb rack - it happens to be my favourite also. I hope you enjoyed your holiday in NZ and maybe able to return in the future.
Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located directly on the lake with a private terrace to sit and enjoy the views. The location is out of town centre by about 3km but is still centrally located to many of the regions tourist attractions. The staff were very friendly and happy to recommend local highlights. Parking was free. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Louise W - your comments are very much appreciated - so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here - wonder if you managed to escape the extreme heat back home at this time. We look forward to your return. Best wishes Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed for two nights at this waterfront hotel on the shores of Lake Taupo. The hotel has a pool and sauna, although swimming in the lake was lovely. The hotel has two award winning restaurants we enjoyed very good service & food with many local dishes.
The hotel is ideally located for lakeside walks and opportunities for many water sports. The Huka falls & many attractions are only a short drive away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear John H - very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here while you were in NZ - I do hope that everything else was great for your tour. Thank you for sharing the lovely comments. Kind regards Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £105 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing