We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We loved this hotel with a terrace overlooking the Lake. We had a bedroom, shower room and lounge with comfy sofa and chairs. The bed was a delight and the shower room had a good range of toiletries and first class equipment. We could park outside but had to drive into town. We had a welcome drink on arrival. I loved the internal swimming pool with the grotto and the water was so warm as it was naturally thermal heated, especially good early in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the Lake which I believe they all did? The building is two storeys only so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandraclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear sandraclaire, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. We appreciate how fortunate we are with our surroundings here and are pleased to know you enjoyed your time with us also. Hope you have many happy NZ memories and that we have the chance to welcome you back another time.
Kind regard,s Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    196
    60
    9
    7
See reviews for
75
367
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Once again we headed back to Taupo and Millennium where we are now quite well known. The service was spectacular as always - stayed in a similar style room with big king sized bed. Only think I don't like is that the beds can be pulled apart and the ridge in the middle of the bed had big ridges down the middle. Views of the lake were spectacular - especially the sun rise on Saturday morning.

Room Tip: Only one room to request - lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moncatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Moncatz - we love having you return and thank you so much for sharing with readers.PLEASE refer to this bed situation with your next visit - we do replace beds regularly and will do what we can to ensure you have the best sleep next time.
best regards, Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We recently stayed over for 1 night. Well located with friendly staff, great rooms, meals etc. It is well located and we had a great view over the lake. The only issue I had was that my room did not have an safe.This should be fitted to all rooms.I do not want to travel to reception to use such a facility.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaffanorthshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Jaffanorthshore - thank you for your positive feedback, all comments taken very seriously to provide excellence in service and guest satisfaction. We do have safes in some already and happy for you to request this as priority on your return.
We hope to welcome you back in the future - best regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Only stayed one night but thought it was fine. Staff friendly and quick check in. The room is not big but has a good view. The lakefront walking path is right outside so you do hear some voices early in the morning. Thought the buffet breakfast was good and attentive staff - I think the Argentinian guests at the next table were surprised to have an Argentinian waitress speak to them, and cozy chairs in the lounge to read the newspaper with a coffee. The grotto spa was quite different, hot and relaxing, although walking past the restaurant with a towel wrapped around you is probably not a normal procedure. When we compared the price with a motel excluding breakfast and no view then I think it was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Craig - Thank you for sharing your experience with us - I am pleased you enjoyed your time here and will be sure to pass on your comments to staff and Barbara our lovely breakfast supervisor. I also hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ and will be able to return another time. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wgtn
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Really loved the friendly staff, location, view and well presented and tasty food. That was as good as it got as the room I was in was in a pretty poor state. Not sure if its was just this room but for the cost of $200 you expect it to be clean and have all things working properly inside. This was not the case and was a big let down.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-DoggyRulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear G-DoggyRulz - Thank you for writing the positive about our wonderful food and staff - we do pride ourselves on this - as well as normally excellent comments about our good housekeeping and clean rooms.
Consequently your feedback about this has really taken me by surprise - I do not know by this review what room you were in but all rooms will be thoroughly checked now to insure no other problems arise. If any issues are bought to our attention during a stay we will go out of our way to ensure guests are comfortable and happy even if it means moving to another room if we are able to do that. I apologize sincerely for disappointing you on this occasion and do hope we will have another chance to restore your confidence in our services in the future. kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently stayed one night at the Millennium Hotel in Taupo and were initially impressed with the lobby, staff and restaurant area. However our excitement turned to disappointment when we were shown to our lake view room. Whilst having an amazing view, the room felt more motel like, with the need to exit the main building and enter the room directlly, via the carpark. The room was was tired and dated, and consisted of peeling wallpaper, cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, a broken rubbish bin, a light bulb not working, a noisy refrigerator running in the room, and finally an old bed which had seen better days. For the price of the room, we didn't expect to encounter this from such a reputable chain of hotels. We'd certainly recommend it as a place to go for a drink, or meal, but not to stay, after our experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugbyfansx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Rugbyfansx2 - although far from what I want to read it is most important that such issues are brought to our attention for improvements and repair.
This is definitely not what our good reputation is built on and all rooms are being checked now to ensure any such conditions are addressed.
I apologize sincerely for your disappointment this time and hope you may return to view other changes and rooms as they are upgraded in the near future.Many rooms have been refurbished early this year and very happy to show you these in the hope that you will enjoy your complete experience next time. Kind regards Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We used this in February this year for a 4 day conference and had our overseas guest stay in accomodations here. They provided a great meeting room and all onsite catering. Was great and would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzzieTaupo, General Manager at Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear NikkiH - thank you for your lovely comments - I am so pleased you experienced our conference facilities as well - we are very proud of our venues, staff and location.
Thank you for placing your overseas guests with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.7 mi away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#11 of 69 in Taupo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo

Property: Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Address: 243 Lake Terrace, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#7 Family Hotel in Taupo
#7 Business Hotel in Taupo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo boasts magnificent lake edge location, luxurious ambience and welcoming professional service makes this a very desirable popular destination for your Taupo accommodation and dining experience.Accommodation includes superior lakefront studios, junior queen and king suites, some with spa baths, all with air conditioning, large screen TV, DVD, radio, telephone, mini bar, coffee, tea, hairdryer, iron, ironing board. All rooms are elegantly furnished. Most units are absolute lake edge, step from your room to the beach or balcony.Edgewater Restaurant and Beach Brasserie are renowned for award winning, superb cuisine with a wine list and stunning views to match. Recreational - on site - heated swimming & ‘Grotto’ plunge pools, sauna, gym & tennis court. Near by- fishing, boating, hot pools, 4 fabulous golf courses, helicopter, scenic flights, parachute, snow skiing, art and vineyard tours to name a few.Guest testimonials confirm our excellent reputation for BEST location, food, facilities, friendly personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel Manuels Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing