We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$166.87*
and up
Taupo Adventure Combo: Jet Boat Ride and Whitewater Rafting
Ranked #14 of 69 things to do in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
wellington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I arrived very late at night, having booked earlier in the day. My initial contact with the proprietors of this concern was fantastic. They were friendly, accommodating and extremely helpful.

While I could not see much of the site when I arrived late at night with my five chihuahuas and a rescued cat in my campervan, the tranquility and ambiance of my surroundings was very soothing.

I awoke the next morning to the most amazing sight. Animals galore in little pens everywhere, all well looked after and so content. It was like awakening in paradise.

Every single interaction I had with the workers and owners of this place was positive. They went out of their way to make me feel welcome.

My only regret was that with so many animals in the car, I did not get to explore further.

The facilities were clean and adequate. I would even consider living long-term in a place likes this. It seemed very appealing at the time, after the hustle and bustle of Auckland, and work pressure.

Very good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank koowellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    106
    42
    18
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“OK, but nothing like Yellowstone (U.S) or Mt. Fuji (Japan)”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

One of our group was really into geology, volcanoes, earthquakes, et al.....and really liked it. We've been to Yellowstone and Mt. Fuji and found this place a little bland. It's quite small... with 3 circular walking paths that are interconnected... (chose which combination of routes you want). You can do 1 in 30 min; 2 in 40 min; and 3 in 60 min... or stay as long as you want. Again... too bad it isn't a National Park

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just a walk with some steamy trees”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After having to pay $30 for a family of 4 we were all disappointed. Not much to see except a few steamy trees. Walk was nice but not worth the cost of entry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prestwood-Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Handcross, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bath in the natural springs”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Taupo is an amazing place to visit with all its geo thermal activity. Walk along the beach and see it steaming, walk through the woods and bath in a natural thermal pool. A must do for all who visit Taupo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyogle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This walk had some pretty nice sights yet the place had fallen into disrepair and really needed the paths worked on and the weeds removed. The animals were fun - the kids loved them and the owner was funny, yet it was a bit lame compared to some of the other thermal parks available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LandersFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing