We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay before Tongariro Northern Circuit”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay before Tongariro Northern Circuit”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hostel before driving to Tongariro National Park and we found it really good choice. If you have a car, the location is perfect - very close to Town center, shopping malls and restaurants. There is a large kitchen, quite well equipped. Staff was very helpful, they provided us all directions, gave us tips on where to eat, what to do and in general were very helpful. Our room (twin) was OK - big enough and clean, though we stayed only for a night so we didn't care that much. Tip: mind that in the evening you might not find free parking space within the possession. We recommend Asian food 5-10 minutes walking from the lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiotrNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    94
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
84
62
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and overall had a great experience. The room was excellent value for money. The kitchen/dining and lounge area is huge, with lots of room for food prep and lots of hobs to cook on. Free herbs and spices and proper coffee!!!! Ross and Jackie (owner and manager) are lovely - very friendly and interested in talking to all the guests. I imagine that it can get a bit noisy here in the summer, but it was pretty quiet when we stayed with the exception of one night when the staff all went out. They are currently re-painting and it seems that they really care about the look of the hostel. The free sauna is great. We used it every day. Location is excellent. Just a short walk into the center of town. They have off street parking. Good laundry facilities. We actually came back to stay here for another 3 nights as we got bored in Napier! Rent the bikes, they are great value and the mountain biking around Taupo is fantastic - they have a huge variation of trails and its free to use the mountain bike park!

Room Tip: The first time we stayed we were in room 3 or 4, while the second time we stayed we were in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank februaryhove2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The rainbow Lodge is a great place to stay in Taupo!! The Staff is very friendly and competend! They know the most about every attraction you can do in Taupo and helped me a lot!! The showers are good and the beds are comfy! I stayed in a Dorm. Also the kitchen is great. It is really clean. You can see the staff cleaning all day! My Tip... Use the Sauna!! It is great after a day of hiking or just for fun! :)

Room Tip: I slept in a Dorm. You have your own light on every bed and the beds are comfy. The bunks are high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at Rainbow Lodge and were pleasantly surprised with the hostel. We had a double room with ensuite and a tv, which was the only time we had either of these during our hostel stays in NZ. The room was lovely and spacious and the ensuite was great too, it felt more like a budget hotel than a hostel! The kitchen and dining area was big, clean and good for socialising with bring your own booze allowed. Much better value than base, but a good 10-15minute walk down to the main bars. Not ideal when it's raining! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoupleabroadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Well run & spacious hostel - off street parking - big kitchen - friendly helpful staff. A 5 or 6 minute walk into town - no problem - several good local activities can be organised from here. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Good hostel in Taupo.

$66 for a double room with ensuite and a TV in the room. Cheapest hostel for that package we stayed at.

Well stocked kitchen with communal spices.

Only 5 min walk to the shops. Helpful staff and provide discount on local attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I only stayed in this place for one night in a 6 person dorm room. Everything was ok, and in the night there was a friendly environment. You can go to the common area with sofas, or they have a small place to prepare BBQ. They also had movie nights in a separate bedroom. They have showers for women, men and mixed in case the others are full.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlfredoAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
1.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing