We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars!”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Awesome hostel! The staff was so friendly and helpful and there was a great mix of long-stay backpackers and short-term travelers. The staff offered us great suggestions of things to do every day and night. Clean rooms, big kitchen full of everything you need to cook, including a full spice rack! Free coffee and tea available during business hours and a movie room available for guests!Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

20mins after i arrived i was on a tour, the owner didnt hesitate to go out of his way to drop off a bag i had forgotten! 2 mins before departure he met me at the busstop! Amazing staff great vibe! I stayed in a single room, had my own bathroom and a tv. Quiet and nice communal areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E3f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a private double with ensuite. Our room was nice, had a TV and the bed was really comfy. I feel it could all have been a little bit cleaner and there was quite a few bugs in the room. There was a little patio area right outside our room.
The kitchen is a pretty good size with plenty seating.
The staff are really nice, helpful and provide loads of info about the area. They even gave us a lift to and from the bus stop.
The location isn't the greatest, about a 10/15 min walk from the town centre.
Overall, we really enjoyed and it and would go back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

...so I picked this place to stay in Taupo. Good choice. Quite a nice vibe in the common room, got a good night sleep as was on my own in dorm room but overall quiet anyway. Good information about Tongariro Crossing and pick-up directly from there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bellarustybelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Even give you a tour round the facilities. Helped me book my skydive and gave me discount on a sail trip, Fearless. The kitchen is quite big, and the hostel is one street away from pak n save. They even let you bring alcohol in which the kiwi experience and stray hostels we stayed at didn't. The room was warm with underfloor heating. We had cheap pizzas from reception on one night for just $5.90. It even had a sauna, and Wi-Fi was reasonably priced, $4 24hours. When we left they even dropped us at the I-site.

Room Tip: for an extra couple of dollars book an en-suite dorm, bigger and warmer and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pc p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed for one night prior to an event the next morning, and this was purely based on price and tripadvisor reviews. Thankfully, it paid off. Greeted and shown around by a very helpful member of staff (who, sorry, I can't remember the name of). We had a double room and the bed was comfortable, the bathroom and shower were both good and clean, as was the whole place by the look of it, and there was a TV with a few channels in there too. Our room had a double bed and a single bed which could come in handy to others. The location is fantastic, if you don't have a car you can walk to the pubs, shops and restaurants etc. There's also a Countdown supermarket nearby. We did not use the kitchen but we did see that there are prepared meals. Wi-fi at a charge which we did not bother with but that was to be expected based on the price we paid. There is also a laundry service, a TV room with SkySports and a barbecue. On the whole, we had a very good experience helped by the helpful and cheery staff, the amenities available such as plentiful off-street parking, and the location being so handy. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hostel before driving to Tongariro National Park and we found it really good choice. If you have a car, the location is perfect - very close to Town center, shopping malls and restaurants. There is a large kitchen, quite well equipped. Staff was very helpful, they provided us all directions, gave us tips on where to eat, what to do and in general were very helpful. Our room (twin) was OK - big enough and clean, though we stayed only for a night so we didn't care that much. Tip: mind that in the evening you might not find free parking space within the possession. We recommend Asian food 5-10 minutes walking from the lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiotrNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#11 of 34 in Taupo
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 34 in Taupo
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#18 of 34 in Taupo
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camellia Court Motel
Camellia Court Motel
#54 of 68 in Taupo
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £25 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing