We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, medium-sized place”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent, medium-sized place”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I didn't expect much when booking a few beds here, but it turned out that the Rainbow Lodge is a quite nice hostel considering its size. The receptionist was very kind and recommended us a cheaper way to see the Maori rock carvings on Lake Taupo, even with a discount! The whole interior is comfortable and spacy, only the kitchen is a bit dirty at some occasions.

Our shared room was clean and not too small. The bathrooms and showers were okay, nothing special. There is a nice outside area with a BBQ place available and it's only a short to the town centre. Not much more comes to mind currently, just that the place is full of 18 year olds, beware (haha)! Prices are okay as well, definitely one of the better bigger hostels on the North Island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    91
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
81
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great place for low-budget backpackers, or for anyone who wishes to enjoy some company at evening time. Clean, with cozy atmosphere and excellent facilities - the Rainbow Lodge is a wonderful place to hang out at, located in amazing Taupo Lake area. Go there and enjoy every minute!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spend two nights in the lodge and had a very comfortable nice doubleroom. The prices are fair and kitchen and bathroom are very clean. Also the kitchen was well equipped and had plenty of space for all the backpackers. And if it got too crowded there was a barbecue place outside. Free tea and coffee at the reception made our stay even better! And the location is great - a 10 minute walk to the lakeside and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel had friendly staff, nice communal areas and comfy dorm beds. Bathrooms were a bit old and tired, could use an update. Free parking on site. Overall the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. Would recommend staying here again :):)

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ttashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I have visited the Rainbow Lodge at the beginning of Feb and I was very happy with the accommodation facilities. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the city attractions. I will use the chance to visit them again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hristo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, nice layout of the inside and outside hang out areas. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Walls were a bit thin and could hear many hallway conversations but got quiet enough for the evenings. Loved the suggestion boards of what to do in lake taupo and weekly events board! A little bit far from city centre but they do have rental bikes and grocery store is only 10 min walk and beach is 20-25 min walk.
Free coffee was nice too!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Welcoming, clean. Could have been better kitchen equipment and some new tea and hand towels. Crockery supply needs improving. No cooking oil but lots of spices. Some hobs broken. Quite a few bugs about...could be rectified.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzibob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#15 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing