We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome times and lovely people”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Rainbow for three months and worked there as cleaners.
The hostel is really lovely, a lot of big and spacious common areas inside and outside. A big TV room where they host a movie night with free popcorn every Monday.
U get free coffee and tea at reception all day long and the atmosphere of the hostel is generally really good, especially in summer time!
The staff is great and friendly and always willing to help out with booking activities and/or providing general information.
It is not particularly good for staying long term, unless u start cleaning there, as most people only stay for a couple of nights to do the Tongariro crossing.
We really enjoyed our time there under the rainbow!

Room Tip: Anything but rooms nine and ten!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaddaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with friends and was looked after so well by Ross and his team of friendly staff. The rooms were the best we'd had in a while and were so clean we felt spolit! The facilities and entertainment options were fab and the town wasn't too far away for a walk in. Would definitely return here and plan to shortly!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I dont really know what was my problem with this place, as there was nothing to blame. very clean. extremely clean shared spaces, great kitchen. nice staff esp girls in the reception. Free coffee, and as much as you need : PRECIOUS! not far from the city centre , not far from hot springs. even sauna. not too cheap though.
my problem was ambience i guess. looks very chilled but the guests were mostly flash german packers, bit stiff i would say. might be just the moment i came. as really cant blame on anything. hostel is just gorgeous:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed a few nights here and found everything was comfortable, the living area is spacious and the kitchen is a good sized although prone to crowding at eating times. Internet works well and is $4 per 24hrs and the showers have good pressure. Everything is very clean and the staff here are great. The hallway can be considerably noisy with people walking up and down and from the rooms but it wasn't an issue at night time. The only real downside we had was how cold it got, although they have heating it comes on at haphazard times and we were more often than not wearing as many layers inside as out!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephandJosh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I didn't expect much when booking a few beds here, but it turned out that the Rainbow Lodge is a quite nice hostel considering its size. The receptionist was very kind and recommended us a cheaper way to see the Maori rock carvings on Lake Taupo, even with a discount! The whole interior is comfortable and spacy, only the kitchen is a bit dirty at some occasions.

Our shared room was clean and not too small. The bathrooms and showers were okay, nothing special. There is a nice outside area with a BBQ place available and it's only a short to the town centre. Not much more comes to mind currently, just that the place is full of 18 year olds, beware (haha)! Prices are okay as well, definitely one of the better bigger hostels on the North Island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromEtoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great place for low-budget backpackers, or for anyone who wishes to enjoy some company at evening time. Clean, with cozy atmosphere and excellent facilities - the Rainbow Lodge is a wonderful place to hang out at, located in amazing Taupo Lake area. Go there and enjoy every minute!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spend two nights in the lodge and had a very comfortable nice doubleroom. The prices are fair and kitchen and bathroom are very clean. Also the kitchen was well equipped and had plenty of space for all the backpackers. And if it got too crowded there was a barbecue place outside. Free tea and coffee at the reception made our stay even better! And the location is great - a 10 minute walk to the lakeside and all the restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#20 of 34 in Taupo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#17 of 34 in Taupo
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silver Fern Lodge
Silver Fern Lodge
#21 of 34 in Taupo
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £25 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing