We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechtree Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acapulco Motor Inn(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gables Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$141
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Beach Resort(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sails On The Lake(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascades Lakefront Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chalet Suisse Motel(Taupo)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
121
96
41
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
96
41
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenmovie nightfree tea and coffeehostel dogfree saunafree spicescommunal areasfavourite hosteloff street parkingbathrooms and showersdorm roomcommon roomcleaned dailybudget accommodationmin walktongariro crossingwi fi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Rainbow Lodge was clean, welcoming and cheap, the paradise for backpacker!!! With a tent is 12,50$each, kitchen is fully equipped and really clean, staff is helpful and really nice!! There is a possibility to book escursion by the lodge and it's 10 minutes walk to the lake!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect for what we needed - good service, clean room, good rates. We loved the sauna and were happy with how friendly everyone was. We managed to get a car park, and although new to it...the reception was clear on how to get in and out without issues. Thank you ;)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmf267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at Rainbow for three months and worked there as cleaners.
The hostel is really lovely, a lot of big and spacious common areas inside and outside. A big TV room where they host a movie night with free popcorn every Monday.
U get free coffee and tea at reception all day long and the atmosphere of the hostel is generally really good, especially in summer time!
The staff is great and friendly and always willing to help out with booking activities and/or providing general information.
It is not particularly good for staying long term, unless u start cleaning there, as most people only stay for a couple of nights to do the Tongariro crossing.
We really enjoyed our time there under the rainbow!

Room Tip: Anything but rooms nine and ten!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaddaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here with friends and was looked after so well by Ross and his team of friendly staff. The rooms were the best we'd had in a while and were so clean we felt spolit! The facilities and entertainment options were fab and the town wasn't too far away for a walk in. Would definitely return here and plan to shortly!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cscorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I dont really know what was my problem with this place, as there was nothing to blame. very clean. extremely clean shared spaces, great kitchen. nice staff esp girls in the reception. Free coffee, and as much as you need : PRECIOUS! not far from the city centre , not far from hot springs. even sauna. not too cheap though.
my problem was ambience i guess. looks very chilled but the guests were mostly flash german packers, bit stiff i would say. might be just the moment i came. as really cant blame on anything. hostel is just gorgeous:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews