We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Rainbow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Rainbow Lodge is a very nice place to stay in Taupo. Good, fully equipped kitchen which is extremely clean, really inviting to cook. The owner is really nice, tries to help you with everything and knows all the companies in town. Free filtered coffee - god had we missed that! Good wifi, just a shame its only 24 hours. Close to pak n save & good off-street parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelleWestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    91
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
81
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Formby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Friendly staff who helped me book all my activities, underfloor heating, sauna, world cup football on tv, peaceful clean, near the hot pools and pak n save. Will definitely come back. Even got a free drop off to the bus station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddyready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I would definitely recommend this backpackers. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a tv/movie room and a movie night with free popcorn the night we stayed. The kitchen/common area was spacious, clean and welcoming. There was a very friendly atmosphere, and also games available to play. I stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm (3 bunk beds) which was fine - we had an ensuite shower and sink, with a toilet and sink right next door to our bedroom which was a nice setup (and clean). Each bed had power points and lights which is always convenient, and the room was fairly spacious to fit our luggage and still have space to move around. There was free parking on site and a great sauna, but no free wi-fi. The location was also good, we walked from the hostel to Huka Falls and the Craters of the Moon, as well as the natural hot springs.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend really enjoyed our stay here. The decor made the place feel cosy and welcoming from the moment we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful too, always happy to offer advice and have a chat. Our double room was neat and clean, as were the bathrooms. What made the place stand out from most hostels were little touches to make our stay more comfortable - like free tea and good filter coffee available all day and a sauna to relax in after a hard day of walking. Top stay, couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dandcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
181 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked a four person room with ensuite bathroom at Rainbow Lodge which met our needs during our three day holiday in Taupo. The building where our room was located was separate from the main communal areas which afforded some privacy. It was clean, functional, and had more space compared to a hostel we previously stayed in. The ensuite bathroom too was fairly large, but it was cold inside since the window could not be completely closed.

Location-wise, it was close to shops, supermarkets, and city center. I remember PAK'nSAVE and The Warehouse were just walking distance away.

Free off-street parking spaces were available in the area in front of our room. However, it could be quite difficult to maneuver bigger-sized vehicles when the first few slots were occupied already. The communal kitchen was perfect for preparing our meals during breakfast and dinner. It could get very busy though so we usually cooked our meals early to avoid the eventual crowding. There was a BBQ grill located outside which we used one night to prepare our steak. Other facilities were available like a TV room, sauna, and pool table, but we were not able to use them since we were usually going around Lake Taupo.

For those on a budget, Rainbow Lodge is a good option for accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a night and it was perfect. We had a spacious room with an en suite, which was clean. The staff were lovely and helpful, and the location of the hostel was ideal. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellencoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Rainbow Lodge was clean, welcoming and cheap, the paradise for backpacker!!! With a tent is 12,50$each, kitchen is fully equipped and really clean, staff is helpful and really nice!! There is a possibility to book escursion by the lodge and it's 10 minutes walk to the lake!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 33 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#12 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#17 of 33 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkenhoff Lodge
Berkenhoff Lodge
#15 of 33 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Lodge

Property: Rainbow Lodge
Address: 99 Titiraupenga Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Taupo's original and favourite backpackers. Rainbow lodge was purpose built and designed for the needs of travellers by Mark Dumble (fishing expert??) and Sue Mrozinski themselves seasoned travellers. They had spent several years on the world's highways and by-ways and having accommodation experiences that are sometimes described as "Character Building" they settled in Taupo famous for its Rainbow Trout and beautiful scenery. Having had my own character building experiences I came to rest at Rainbow lodge and worked closely with them for a year before they handed me the reigns. Ross ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rainbow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing