We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Premises and People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillars Retreat
Ranked #1 of 41 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danmark
2 reviews
“Beautiful Premises and People”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Had a wonderful couple of nights here in the Pillars Luxury Suite. Immaculate room with massive bed, lovely hosts who were extremely friendly and an amazing view from the balcony. Beautiful property and nice to walk through the gardens, we were severely impressed. Best of luck to the new owners - Shaun and Ditte Forester

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skovjuul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was indeed our pleasure to host you both and hope the rest of your travels through New Zealand was a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
219
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Barthelemy
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This house is fantastic, very comfortable and very welcoming. The garden is beautiful and we slept so well as there is absolutely no noise !
The owners are very friendly and you feel at home !
The breakfast was excellent, and all I can say is don't hesitate to choose The Pillars Retreat !

Room Tip: All the rooms are good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corinne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we can confirm that because of our quiet rural location the only noise that you will hear at The Pillars Retreat is the birds as they wake up in the morning.
We did enjoy talking about France with you,although i speak some french it badly needs practise and during November we had several other guests from France so i was able to converse with them and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We spent one night at the Pillars on our way back to Auckland Airport from Napier. We were warmly greeted by Gilly and Brian with tea and homemade scones. We were shown to a beautiful spacious bedroom with every home comfort. They recommended a French Bistro for dinner which was excellent. We were spoilt at breakfast with fruit salad, muesli, yoghurt and blueberry muffins all home made by Gilly. We had a long and most interesting chat about each other's travels and families. We so enjoyed the stay, the beautiful immaculate gardens and would love to go back.
Peter and Denise

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian J, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you for your informative review, which will help future guests get an idea about what they will experience here at The Pillars Retreat. Gilly enjoys baking and providing our guests with the freshest tastiest produce for them to sample.Our home grown stewed rhubarb and fresh eggs from our hens for breakfast have also proved very popular recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Pillars, hosted by genial Kiwi couple Gilly and Brian, is certainly one of the very best B&B's that my wife and I have stayed at in our travels. Their home is spacious, beautifully, appointed, and immaculate in every respect, and it felt like we were being welcomed by old friends. Gilly is a wonderful cook, and Brian keeps the grounds as welcoming and manicured as a particularly visitor-friendly botanical garden. We were there for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer: our hosts went far out of their way to make us feel relaxed, comfortable, and welcome.

Our room was very large and beautifully furnished, heated through the floor for maximum comfort and even sensuality. Virtually every aspect of this establishment is top-drawer, inviting relaxation and even serenity. Without question this is one of the best lodging choices available.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geosync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for a lovely review. Brian & i both enjoy what we do and hopefully this is reflected in what the guests experience here at The Pillars Retreat.The gardens are particularly beautiful at the moment with all the spring growth and Brian loves to talk with our guests who love gardening and exchange knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I visited The Pillars in October 2013. From the moment I arrived I felt like I was at home. Gilly and Brian welcomed me with wide arms and were wonderful hosts. It was a pleasure to share their beautiful home. My room was spacious and imaculately groomed. I enjoyed time exploring the beautiful gardens and started each day with a beautiful home cooked breakfast.
Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We have been working hard, since taking over the management of The Pillars Retreat in early September. Our rooms and facilities have been upgraded with our guests comfort and enjoyment in mind.We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We had 3 nights at Pillars, Ruth and John are excellent hosts and are very helpful to help you enjoy the best of what you want to see in the area.
I would recommend the white water rafting it was amazing.
We loved our breakfasts with our hosts, they love getting to know their guests.
Our room and bathroom were lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed in the pillars in january 2013. We loved the beautiful guest rooms. We had a living room and a big sleeping room for own use. The breakfast-buffet was delicious and we the hosts joined us. So we had a very interesting talk during our brunch.
Unfortunately we were to old to use the slide ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
polish1, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi Ralf D
thankyou for taking the time to pass comment of your stay at The Pillars. We enjoy hosting guests from many different countries and always try to give great hosting and facilities. Your comments, and as said before, those from other guests are really appreciated
Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
4.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
9.5 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Retreat

Property: The Pillars Retreat
Address: 7 Deborah Rise | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique purpose built mediteranean style two storied country manor is a short drive from central Taupo, the perfect spot to stop, relax and discover the central north island. The wonderful panoramic mature gardens and surrounding mountains greet you as you enter our front gates. A warm Kiwi welcome awaits from your resident hosts John and Nancy, with a homemade afternoon tea which can be taken in our guest lounge or outside on our sunny patio. Our four self contained, spacious, luxuriously appointed upstairs ensuited bedrooms all with spectacular rural views, Tea & coffee making facilities, along with homemade treats, fresh fruit bowl, TV with USB, underfloor heating, Free Wi-Fi and serviced daily. Guest laundry facilities are available free of charge. An invitation to share a complimentary early evening drink & nibbles and to swap travel stories with other guests is not to be missed. A free shuttle to restaurants is provided, or guests can bring ready made food provisions and eat at home. After a good nights sleep in our peaceful,comfortable beds come and enjoy one of our cooked or continental breakfasts, made with organic or locally sourced ingredients, often from our own garden and mostly homemade. We endeavour to cater for all dietary requirements. Your hosts are happy to discuss and advise on the many sightseeing options in the area, or you could just have a day relaxing around the salt water pool reading a book from our library collection. Children over 13 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pillars Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillars Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing