We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pillars Retreat
Ranked #1 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best B&B”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Without doubt the best B&B we have stayed at. It is genuinely like being a house guest. Gilly and Brian are fantastic hosts. Great location, great rooms and brilliant breakfast. What more do you want!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you Mike for reviewing us. We shall never forget our evenings sitting out on the patio and chatting to you and Paula over a glass of good New Zealand wine. The sunsets were particularly beautiful when you stayed. It was good to see you relaxing with a good book beside the pool after your demanding walk in Tongario National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
216
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Pillars Retreat. Gilly and Brian are gracious hosts and made sure every detail was looked after. We sincerely appreciated how welcome they made us feel. Our accommodation was wonderful, we had a marvelous view. Everything was top notch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cavanaghwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review we did enjoy having you both to stay recently. We enjoy hosting guests from all over the world and making them feel welcome in our home. I hope the rest of your travels in New Zealand went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Enjoyed our night at the Pillars. Gilly and Brian were excellent hosts and the property was great. Only minor problem is that it is a bit out of Taupo and going for dinner is a bit of a drive.
Overall we enjoyed being in the country

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank canuck1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. Although we are approximately 8km easy drive into Taupo township, most of our guests like you appreciate the peace and quiet that the country affords. We are also very happy to drive you in to Taupo for dinner in the evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is one of the very best B&Bs in which we have stayed. Gilly and Brian are excellent hosts, very welcoming, friendly and full of information. The rooms are big, well equipped and very comfortable, especially the Pillars suite. We shall certainly be back next year.

Room Tip: Give yourselves a treat and book the Pillars Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review Malcolm, it was a pleasure to have you and your wife to stay, and look forward to having you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Thanks so much to Gilly and Brian for making us so welcome and looking after us so well. By far the best accommodation in NZ. We would recommend your home to anyone visiting the area for first class in all respects. Hope to see you again one day.
Best wishes, Helen and John Hill

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnCHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and your positive feedback. We always strive to give excellent service and an experience to remember and i am glad we achieved this for you both. When we are next back in UK you inspired us to go walking in wales and well done for conquering Mt Tauhara at 1,099 metres.Look forward to seeing you out in Taupo again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a great place. We were en route from Northland to Napier for The Mission Concert and stayed for three fabulous nights. Brian & Gilly are tremendous hosts and their breakfasts astounding. Definitely one of the best B&Bs in New Zealand. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sunset room is the smallest , but still very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerbazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your great review, hope you enjoyed the Mission concert this year. We had several guests stopping over for a night to break the journey from Auckland and to explore what Taupo has to offer, before going the short trip to Napier ( 1.5 hours ). We love to serve healthy, tasty breakfasts and i am glad you enjoyed my summer menu with lots of fresh ingredients to start your day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was a great place to stay with wonderful hospitality. The hosts very much strive to make your stay memorable. They were so accommodating. This was our very first bed and breakfast, and it will be very hard to find a better place. It was a beautiful property and very well kept. The rooms were spacious and there were lots of little things added that were very thoughtful. It's a very easy drive to Taupo (about 10 minutes).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2GillyJ, Owner at The Pillars Retreat, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing us and confirming that we are only a short drive to the centre of Taupo. We are situated in a rural sub-division only 8km from town, so a quiet peaceful stay is assured.We are happy to drive guests into a restaurant as part of our many services.We hope you will stay at many more Bed & Breakfasts, and indeed come and see us again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
3.8 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
4.2 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillars Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillars Retreat

Property: The Pillars Retreat
Address: 7 Deborah Rise | Bonshaw Park, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pillars Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique purpose built mediteranean style two storied country manor is a short drive from central Taupo, the perfect spot to stop, relax and discover the central north island. The wonderful panoramic mature gardens and surrounding mountains greet you as you enter our front gates. A warm Kiwi welcome awaits from your resident hosts Brian & Gilly, with a homemade afternoon tea which can be taken in our guest lounge or outside on our sunny patio. Our four self contained, spacious, luxuriously appointed upstairs ensuited bedrooms all with spectacular rural views, Tea & coffee making facilities, along with homemade treats, fresh fruit bowl, TV with USB, underfloor heating, Free Wi-Fi and serviced daily. Guest laundry facilities are available free of charge. An invitation to share a complimentary early evening drink & nibbles and to swap travel stories with other guests is not to be missed. A free shuttle to restaurants is provided, or guests can bring ready made food provisions and eat at home. After a good nights sleep in our peaceful,comfortable beds come and enjoy one of our cooked or continental breakfasts, made with organic or locally sourced ingredients, often from our own garden and mostly homemade.We endeavour to cater for all dietry requirements. Your hosts are happy to discuss and advise on the many sightseeing options in the area, or you could just have a day relaxing around the salt water pool reading a book from our library collection. Children over 13 years are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pillars Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pillars Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing