We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Lake Taupo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lake Taupo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Fabulous individualized attention form our host Gary who couldn't do enough for us.
Lodge and gardens are magnificent
Room had terrific view and beautifully appointed
Superb breakfast
Highly recommend to discerning guests who value quality.
R and M

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 952Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

What made our visit particularly enjoyable was the great hospitality of the lodge's very gracious host Gary. Our room was very comfortable and cozy and with breathtaking view of the lake, and made our stay felt quite special and romantic. Anita and David Feb 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidreview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were made to feel so special. The home was beautiful with breathtaking views of the garden and the lake in the distance. The rooms and bath were immaculate, modern and contained extras such as magnifying mirror and a luggage area. Our meals were gourmet with fresh ingredients and the owner made certain everything was to our liking. It was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 444David678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The Lake Taupo Lodge was our first stop in New Zealand and what a remarkable place to begin a memorable journey. The rooms are perfectly appointed with gorgeous views of the lake, and the chef prepared dinners and breakfasts are gourmet and delicious. Gary and his staff provided for our every need in a warm and friendly way. We truly felt welcomed in their beautiful home!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sydney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

As a private home, the Lodge would have been right up there in movie-star territory, with spectacular views over the lake, a gorgeous garden and large, super-luxurious rooms. Now, Gary & Shirley share their beautiful home with guests and provide a welcome to match the surroundings. We had a busy touring schedule but would have delighted in an extra day just lazing on the balcony of our suite drinking in the view and chilling out. Pricey by comparison with conventional hotels, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We wanted to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary in a special way, and Lake Taupo Lodge really delivered (along with some great weather!!) From the well appointed suite with fantastic lake views, the gorgeous garden, and the delicious breakfast we had a wonderful weekend. The icing on the cake was the friendly and efficient service - restaurants were recommended and bookings made, suggestions for walks given, and Gary and Shirley cracked open a bottle of Moet to celebrate our anniversary. We couldn't have had a more enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DianeS36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at lake taupo lodge after huka lodge was fully booked, but we were very pleased with the reception. We were warmly welcomed by our lovely host Gary. He went out of his way for our restaurant reservation, which was heart-warming to see. Thanks for the wonderful stay and the fact that we met new people at the pre-dinner drinks :-)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mentrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
4.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,131 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
3.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
3.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
3.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 68 in Taupo
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Taupo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Taupo Lodge

Address: 41 Mapara Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £281 - £536 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Taupo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Taupo Lodge offers 5 star luxury accommodation with dinner by arrangement. The focus is on gracious living and the six guest suites are luxurious examples of world class accommodation.This award winning, luxury bed & breakfast lodge is a designer’s delight. Inspired by Frank Lloyd Wright, it is set within magnificent landscaped gardens overlooking beautiful Lake Taupo and the mountains.Lake Taupo Lodge prides itself in the care and attention that we put into our guests. From the moment you arrive you can relax and let us look after you in style and comfort.This is a large (10,000 sqm) multi faceted property with each room having its own lounge area as well as the large main lounge and dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Taupo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing