We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect B & B”
Review of The Loft

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Loft
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“perfect B & B”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What more could we want! Clean, spacious room and bathroom, comfy bed, nice restaurant within walking distance, peaceful area away from bustle of the town, great breakfast. Made perfect by friendly and helpful hosts Jane and John.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmary145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wanted to say what a find this was on our 3 week NZ vacation. We felt blessed to have been able to stay here out of the hustle and bustle of the main hub in Taupo. We were here New Years and the area was crazy busy. We had not planned ahead and booked a place, and once we saw how nuts it was wanted something out of the way, and fortunately we got the last room they had here.

Room was very clean and comfy. Breakfast was great with fresh berries, yogurt, eggs,toast, etc. All very nice! The hosts were great in meeting our needs, and their gardens/grounds were a wonderful sight to see. We walked to the Bay restaurant down the street for our evening meal and it was a spot on recommendation on top of a great stay. I should mention that a bonus is always free wifi these days, which they have.

Room Tip: may wish to ask for any of their rooms facing the back of their home if avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Jane and John not only collected us from the airport after 8pm, but also took us back the next day to collect the rental car!
This bed and breakfast is in Acacia Bay, not in Taupo's main area, but there's a lovely restaurant just down the road a little within walking distance.
Cafe L'Arte (needs a car but not far) with its mosaics has interesting linch cabinet food too
Well planned room, and lovely breakfast, and caring host.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Formfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
579 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We've stayed only one night at The Loft but it was a lovely experience. The owner, Jane, is a nice and smiling lady who welcomed us at night. The room was big and very cozy, with a comfy bed, lots of pillows, TV, heater, good bathroom with good shower. Also, the breakfast was great, tasty, in a common table where you can talk with other guests. We liked it very much and if you want a cozy and charming BB to stay in Taupo, we recommend it! Just be aware that you'll need a car to go to the city, it's about 10 min max ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

we were looking for somewhere between Hastings and home, so found The Loft. I had visited Acacia Bay many years ago. Jane and John were charming hosts. The room we had was the largest of the three available and it was charming. Jane recommended The Bay restaurant down the hill, which was a real find for a very good dinner. Breakfast was very fresh, and well cooked and presented. They made us feel very welcome. Would recommend this to other travellers, you will need a car, but well worth a visit outside the main shopping area of Taupo, if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: we had the largest of the three rooms, it had a queen bed and a large sofa at one end of the room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitchenlady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had a totally lovely experience here and have nothing but good comments to say. Jane and John are very friendly and helpful hosts but not intrusive. We stayed in the lovely Shakespeare suite for 2 nights and really appreciated the extra space. The other 2 rooms are also really nice and the pictures provided are accurate. They are all on the lst floor and there is a shared fridge/tea-making facility on the landing just outside the rooms.
A nice bottle of wine was in the fridge for us to enjoy and the hosts sometimes invite guests to join them for a drink. Our yummy breakfast was orange juice, muesli, fresh fruit salad, scrambled eggs with tea and toast.
Jane booked us into the Bay restaurant down the road on both evenings and we had 2 lovely meals there. It was also nice to chat to the hosts and another guest from Holland over breakfast - that is part of the charm of the B&B.

Room Tip: They are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for one night and found our hosts to be very welcoming and the accommodation and location to be very good. It is out of town, but this will not be a problem for the vast majority of visitors, who will be travelling by car.
The comments of Janine seem to us to be utter nonsense - clearly some sort of agenda there!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,020 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
2.4 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#46 of 69 in Taupo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Acacia Waters
Acacia Waters
#23 of 34 in Taupo
3 reviews
2.8 mi away
Colonial Lodge Motel
Colonial Lodge Motel
#39 of 69 in Taupo
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Serenity on Wakeman
Serenity on Wakeman
#11 of 41 in Taupo
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Property: The Loft
Address: 3 Wakeman Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loft is a lovely purpose built BnB in Acacia Bay, only 5 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Taupo. We have three spacious rooms available for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing