We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't have asked for better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Loft
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Couldn't have asked for better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

It has took me a while but I am finally getting around to reviewing my accommodation from my holiday 6 months ago!

I arrived about 8pm and was greeted by John who was very helpful and even offered to carry my suitcase up the stairs, what a gent! I had booked the Dickens room and was more than happy with the size of it, I had spent a lot of my holiday driving so it was really nice to have such a large comfy bed with millions of cushions, it was super cozy. John even made me feel better about the speeding ticket I had just been issued ( which I did appeal and was unsuccessful!) the room was very nicely decorated and clean throughout. My only issue was finding a spare plug socket to charge my tablet so that it would reach the bed but this for me was no big deal.

John and Jane recommended a place to eat just a short walk from the BnB so I took there advice and had dinner there.

The ensure was a good size with a walk in shower and all the amenities needed if you had forgotten to bring your own.

Breakfast the next day was served in the kitchen diner and consisted of fruit, toast and a very nice cooked breakfast curtesy of Jane, and some freshly squeezed apple juice made from apples from the back garden. Jane sat and chatted with me for a bit and recommended a few activities on the way to my next destination which was Roturua, it was a shame I wasn't staying longer as during the booking process Jane had suggested a few day excursions including lake fishing and wild pig hunting but alas my budget and time frame prevented me from taking advantage of either.

All in all I found the Loft to be excellent value for money and even though it was just outside of the main Taupo town area in Acacia Bay I found this to be better as it was very peaceful and less touristy.

I would also point out that they have a wonderful little dog who I think is called Timmy who was very well behaved and super cute but just to be aware of this if you are not a dog person!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    17
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

we stayed in the shakespeare room in february. the room is large and comfortable with easy chairs and a table. the tea/coffee making is on the landing which whilst not a problem does mean that for the morning cuppa you need to properly attired and not rattle the cups too much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alecver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

A charming couple welcomed more poms to their B and B and looked after us so well.....Even lending us rainmacks and an umbrella for the wet concert we attended. Breakfast was delicious and ample and the room very comfortable.

Recommended in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Traffic noise can be an issue unless you are at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

What more could we want! Clean, spacious room and bathroom, comfy bed, nice restaurant within walking distance, peaceful area away from bustle of the town, great breakfast. Made perfect by friendly and helpful hosts Jane and John.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmary145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wanted to say what a find this was on our 3 week NZ vacation. We felt blessed to have been able to stay here out of the hustle and bustle of the main hub in Taupo. We were here New Years and the area was crazy busy. We had not planned ahead and booked a place, and once we saw how nuts it was wanted something out of the way, and fortunately we got the last room they had here.

Room was very clean and comfy. Breakfast was great with fresh berries, yogurt, eggs,toast, etc. All very nice! The hosts were great in meeting our needs, and their gardens/grounds were a wonderful sight to see. We walked to the Bay restaurant down the street for our evening meal and it was a spot on recommendation on top of a great stay. I should mention that a bonus is always free wifi these days, which they have.

Room Tip: may wish to ask for any of their rooms facing the back of their home if avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Jane and John not only collected us from the airport after 8pm, but also took us back the next day to collect the rental car!
This bed and breakfast is in Acacia Bay, not in Taupo's main area, but there's a lovely restaurant just down the road a little within walking distance.
Cafe L'Arte (needs a car but not far) with its mosaics has interesting linch cabinet food too
Well planned room, and lovely breakfast, and caring host.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Formfiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
550 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We've stayed only one night at The Loft but it was a lovely experience. The owner, Jane, is a nice and smiling lady who welcomed us at night. The room was big and very cozy, with a comfy bed, lots of pillows, TV, heater, good bathroom with good shower. Also, the breakfast was great, tasty, in a common table where you can talk with other guests. We liked it very much and if you want a cozy and charming BB to stay in Taupo, we recommend it! Just be aware that you'll need a car to go to the city, it's about 10 min max ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
3.1 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#36 of 71 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#3 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
3.8 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lake
The Lake
#29 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft

Property: The Loft
Address: 3 Wakeman Road | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loft Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing