We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uber luxurious.”
Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Point villas is a truly magical little paradise. 15 minutes away from the main town of Taupo this is a luxurious place for those who choose to live by their own. Peg is a fantastic host and ensures that guests have a great time while at point villas. We had a great conversation with her and other guests about culture, India, spirituality etc over pre dinner canapés. The villas are spacious with nice views of the bay and a cozy pool to enjoy. The special feature though I guess was the bathrooms with great rainforest setting outside. A perfect place those who enjoy being by themselves, this private little gem is just apt.
We stayed in Villa 1.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Wow wow wow, not only architecturally stunning, each villa has been catered for with only the finest of detail, right down to the coffee and jams . The view was to die for, the pools where amazing. Every detail including the garden where family came together made you feel very special. The kids loved it, it was safe, and loads to do. Point villas are in a class of there own making us feel like we have truly relaxed and been spoilt, but its makes it more special by the owner peg, who is the loveliest person, nothing is to much trouble and will do anything for you like an old friend. Her warmth and kindness make this place stand out on its own. She is truly a remarkable lady. Thank you peg for allowing us to share in your amazing place of magic , can't wait to come back at Christmas

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaddingtOn44slk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Breathtaking! The architectural design of the Point Villas blends in seamlessly with the beautiful scenery such that you feel one with nature whether sitting on the deck, swimming in the pool, relaxing on the couch, taking a shower, or soaking in the tub. Every detail is thoughtfully considered - from interior design, kitchen supplies, and lush bathroom towels, to ready access to in-room spa appointments, area activities, and even your own personal chef! Peg and Brian are warm and welcoming hosts, who share their love of the local area and people and provide a feeling of comfort from the moment you arrive. We will spend a lifetime reminiscing about our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kstanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Point Villas in February 2013. We could only stay 1 night, but could have stayed there forever! The setting is second to none and Peg and Brian the hosts are fabulous. We went with our 2 young boys and they were happy to be in the pool all day long whilst we soaked in the breathtaking views of the lake. Every detail has been taken care of by Peg. A wonderful and romantic place to stay - we would definitely go back if we return to NZ.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at Point Villas for 3 nights in October last year and we had the most amazing time. The villa is wonderful - it's been beautifully decorated and is incredibly comfortable. You can tell that a lot of love has gone into the design and the views are breathtaking. I could sit out on that patio overlooking the lake forever! Peg (the owner and host) is so welcoming and friendly and can suggest a wide range of activities to do nearby. She organised for us to go on a sunset cruise with Barbary Scenic Cruises and it was the perfect end to our stay there. This just felt like home from the moment we walked in - I really didn't want to leave. We preferred cooking in the villa and enjoying the peace and quiet but it's only about a 10mins drive away to the town if you want to go out and enjoy the restaurants. Lake Taupo is a beautiful area of New Zealand and there is so much to do. And the best thing? Coming back to Point Villas after a day's sightseeing!

Room Tip: Either room in the villa is fantastic and offer some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Point Villas and as always our hosts Peg and Brian were most gracious and accommodating for any and every request that we had. This property is an immaculate, private and spacious retreat that offers breath taking views and the peace and tranquility of this private gated estate is spectacular. Attention to detail is impeccable, For our stay we were treated to home made shortbread and granola to mention just a couple of the thoughtful little touches. Their newest addition, the Magna solar heated lap pool, made for the perfect 5 star experience. Peg and Brian, thank you. We will be back again soon..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwisue0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We headed to Taupo for some world class trout fishing but wanted accommodations to match the trophy fish. As picky travelers, we had done a fair amount of research before selecting the Point Villas. We were up for the opportunity to prepare a meal or two in the privacy of a spectacularly located and well appointed villa. The view is breathtaking. Our hostess, Peg Bull, was utterly charming and aimed to please, even picking up the Lord of the Rings trilogy to prepare us for our next venture into Middle Earth. A great deal of attention to detail is evidenced throughout...from the quality of the linens down to the perfect kitchen utensil. This is a special place and nice to come home to after battling trophy trout on the variety of rivers in the area.

Room Tip: Villa Number One...nothing to see but your own pool looking out to dramatic views of Lake Taupo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxvagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.0 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
Acacia Cliffs Lodge
#5 of 34 in Taupo
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.0 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range: £537 - £830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing