We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you seek for serenity and luxury, this is THE place”
Review of The Point Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Point Villas
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If you seek for serenity and luxury, this is THE place”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is the first place we stay during our vacation to New Zealand. We arrived in the late evening and were greeted by Peg, our friendly host. The moment we were introduced to our villa we were amazed by the luxurious yet cosy design of the villa. We unloaded our luggage and Peg recommended some good restaurants to us for our dinner. The villa is just about 10-15 min drive from the main town of Taupo so it is quite convenient located. The next morning when we woke up we got our second surprise. This was because when we arrive the day before the sky was dark and we didn't really notice the view outside the glass doors. Just imagine the moment you open your eyes when u wake up and u were greeted by the stunning views of Lake Taupo and it is so close to you. The villa provides almost everything that is needed. I have to pay our gratitude to Peg. She had provided a perfect balance between hospitality and privacy to us during our stay. We feel very much like home and well taken care of. She have attended all the request that we have made and even a case of emergency. Thank you so much Peg. If we have a chance to visit Taupo again, we will definitely come to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sOtSoTdEi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Alas we only had a single night to enjoy the beauty, serenity, and luxury of the Point Villas during a recent visit to Taupo, but I was very glad to have had even such a short amount of time at this stunning spot. The décor of the villas is exceptional in every way, from the La Cornue stoves to the beautiful furniture and the art that adorns the walls (much of it painted by the father of the Point Villas' host, the inimitable Peg). The location is above Mine Bay on Lake Taupo, and is surrounded by lush vegetation with dramatic nighttime lighting that makes you feel as if you are in the deepest forest, rather than a short drive from a thriving town. When I return to Taupo, I'll certainly want to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

Point villas is a truly magical little paradise. 15 minutes away from the main town of Taupo this is a luxurious place for those who choose to live by their own. Peg is a fantastic host and ensures that guests have a great time while at point villas. We had a great conversation with her and other guests about culture, India, spirituality etc over pre dinner canapés. The villas are spacious with nice views of the bay and a cozy pool to enjoy. The special feature though I guess was the bathrooms with great rainforest setting outside. A perfect place those who enjoy being by themselves, this private little gem is just apt.
We stayed in Villa 1.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritish27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Wow wow wow, not only architecturally stunning, each villa has been catered for with only the finest of detail, right down to the coffee and jams . The view was to die for, the pools where amazing. Every detail including the garden where family came together made you feel very special. The kids loved it, it was safe, and loads to do. Point villas are in a class of there own making us feel like we have truly relaxed and been spoilt, but its makes it more special by the owner peg, who is the loveliest person, nothing is to much trouble and will do anything for you like an old friend. Her warmth and kindness make this place stand out on its own. She is truly a remarkable lady. Thank you peg for allowing us to share in your amazing place of magic , can't wait to come back at Christmas

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaddingtOn44slk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Breathtaking! The architectural design of the Point Villas blends in seamlessly with the beautiful scenery such that you feel one with nature whether sitting on the deck, swimming in the pool, relaxing on the couch, taking a shower, or soaking in the tub. Every detail is thoughtfully considered - from interior design, kitchen supplies, and lush bathroom towels, to ready access to in-room spa appointments, area activities, and even your own personal chef! Peg and Brian are warm and welcoming hosts, who share their love of the local area and people and provide a feeling of comfort from the moment you arrive. We will spend a lifetime reminiscing about our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kstanney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed at Point Villas in February 2013. We could only stay 1 night, but could have stayed there forever! The setting is second to none and Peg and Brian the hosts are fabulous. We went with our 2 young boys and they were happy to be in the pool all day long whilst we soaked in the breathtaking views of the lake. Every detail has been taken care of by Peg. A wonderful and romantic place to stay - we would definitely go back if we return to NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at Point Villas for 3 nights in October last year and we had the most amazing time. The villa is wonderful - it's been beautifully decorated and is incredibly comfortable. You can tell that a lot of love has gone into the design and the views are breathtaking. I could sit out on that patio overlooking the lake forever! Peg (the owner and host) is so welcoming and friendly and can suggest a wide range of activities to do nearby. She organised for us to go on a sunset cruise with Barbary Scenic Cruises and it was the perfect end to our stay there. This just felt like home from the moment we walked in - I really didn't want to leave. We preferred cooking in the villa and enjoying the peace and quiet but it's only about a 10mins drive away to the town if you want to go out and enjoy the restaurants. Lake Taupo is a beautiful area of New Zealand and there is so much to do. And the best thing? Coming back to Point Villas after a day's sightseeing!

Room Tip: Either room in the villa is fantastic and offer some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,081 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.0 mi away
Lake Taupo Lodge
Lake Taupo Lodge
#1 of 34 in Taupo
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whakaipo Lodge
Whakaipo Lodge
#2 of 41 in Taupo
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Villas

Property: The Point Villas
Address: Lake Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand (Formerly Point Villas)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Point Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Point Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing