We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome break”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #62 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A welcome break”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very friendly hosts, and very happy, the place is close to town and within walking distance of the township. We had no problems and enjoyed the stay apprt from the Tau8po rubbish collector arriving in the street below at about 6am this is something that unfortunately happens in a town and is beyond the control of anyone. Recommend it to anyone travelling through

Room Tip: No Poool or fitness centre but who needs that on holiday eat drink and be merry, not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    25
    11
    14
See reviews for
42
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My second time stay - the new owner is friendly and helpful.
Great location, nice and tidy. Some new furniture compared with last time.
Nice and quiet> The hot water is very hot which is good.
Will stay again for the great value!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second floor is better?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverlee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this motel on 15th March 2013 for one night. We arrived in Taupo after a long drive from Wellington (almost half way into our holiday so we were tired) and we were greeted by the hotel manager George in a warm and courteous manner.

We had only 1 night and half a day in Taupo before heading toward Rotorua and George was most helpful in guiding us to the best places to see in such a short time frame. Although he could not accommodate us in any of the rooms on the ground level, which was a bit tough as we had a lot of luggage and a child but what made our stay pleasant, was the fact that he was cheerful and friendly.

The room was nice and clean and all amenities were provided as listed in the facilities. The hotel was also close to everything which is handy for travelers.

We will recommend this hotel; if you’re not after very modern accommodation, you will not go wrong here.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room on the ground level as the stairs are hard if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Booked a two bedroom place here as the rest of Taupo was booked out. Not bad, had two bedrooms upstairs, kitchen, toilets, shower, lounge/dinning down stars.
It lacked any information in the unit about the Motel, so it was play the guessing game as to what the channels were on the TV, went booking out was, what do you need to do to ring out ETC, in fact there was nothing to let you know about anything about the Motel. But not a biggy as it kept us busy finding and exploring the place. It was quite and acceptable, there was no air conditioning, but we do not have that at home so again not a biggy
There is a big yard area, enough to kick a ball around and let off some steam and handy to the shops. The view would have been good if "The Warehouse" had not blocked it, but we were there for somewhere to sleep, and do our thing around the place during the day. It was surprisingly quite with no noise coming from the next room that you usually get. You do not get the usual soaps and shampoo and other trimmings just towels and liquid soap dispencers

Room Tip: The two, 2 bed units that are on there own worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I and my family stayed in this hotel in a deluxe family suite for one night. The rooms were of good size. All the fittings were very old and basin and kitchen taps did not have mixture. The showering area was very small with no liquid soap in the dispenser.. No soaps, shampoo and shower caps were provided. As no milk was available in the fridge we had to ask for it. The carpet was old and with stains. The room was smelly. The electric cooker was not working. The communal BBQ was not cleaned for a long time. The trampoline did not have safety net. The spa pool was filled with dirty water. I requested to get it cleaned at 4 pm and was not ready for bath by next day morning. The window curtains were so thin that we woke up at 6 0' clock due to morning sun light. I can write more about our one day experience but do not want you to waste your time reading it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiv1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had an initial booking problem but George made a big effort to sort it out. The staff including daily room servicing were all friendly and efficient but this is where the positives end.

My biggest concerns relate to fire safety - NO SMOKE ALARMS, or fire extinguishers,
There were no Guest Instructions detailing fire procedures and assembly points or general instructions for the amenities. Where is the guest Laundry?

Parking was difficult around the back and we had to figure out where to park as we were not even shown our room or parking space. Certainly not enough room to maneuver a boat . .

The "Full kitchen" consisted of two unstable ring burners and a small microwave and an electric frypan. There is no oven and very little utensils.. we had to buy a sharp knife, clean chopping board and spatula and a microwave rice cooker (no sieve to drain stove cooked rice or pasta) . We did not use the BBQ because there was nothing provided to cook with. (no tongs etc) . The addition of a spatula, sieve and sharp knife would have made a difference so bring these along with you if you plan to cook.

The general appearance of the room and furnishings was dated, (we had two bedroom upstairs/downstairs villa) It needs a facelift and attention to general maintenance eg wobbly chair legs, bedroom doors not closing properly - stiff and jamming (another fire hazard) . Perhaps a better TV to watch the limited sky channels offered.

There is a big grassed area for children to run around on but the gardens were dry and dead, just dirt and gravel. Not exactly a nice feature to look upon.

The unit CAN sleep 7 but is not really suitable for 7 people to holiday. Table seats 4. Couch seats 2-3. We were two adults and two teens and even then found it a bit pressed for chilling out space other than resorting to going to a bedroom.

I think we could have spent our money better elsewhere and will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bek68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Very convenient quiet location near to the CBD and lake. A good range of facilities and outdoor space. George and his team are also very helpful and friendly.
A nice place to stay and one we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternalkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#17 of 69 in Taupo
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#50 of 69 in Taupo
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
134 reviews
2.5 mi away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Property: Barcelona Motel
Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing