We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This motel was fine for a night's stopover. We had a one bedroom unit but it was a bit tired - some fittings needed attention - and the shower setup was a bit strange. However it was clean and comfortable and walkable to town centre and water front and other amenities which was great on a fine summer evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked for 3 nights.
Arrived Wed night. The room is very dated. No milk in unit, no shamp/cond or soap in shower. The lights fused and the unit plunged into darkness. No - one avaliable till the morning to fix lights.The heater did not work in the unit. There was no information for motel including number to reception or tv channel/s. Our vehicle was blocked in as another guest had parked their car in front of the back drive area to our unit. We were forced to drive up the back paddock and down a steep hill to get out of the complex. Not impressed at all!
Even though the host was friendly and assisted promptly with the lighting, i would not go back here at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbyGurl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very friendly hosts, and very happy, the place is close to town and within walking distance of the township. We had no problems and enjoyed the stay apprt from the Tau8po rubbish collector arriving in the street below at about 6am this is something that unfortunately happens in a town and is beyond the control of anyone. Recommend it to anyone travelling through

Room Tip: No Poool or fitness centre but who needs that on holiday eat drink and be merry, not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My second time stay - the new owner is friendly and helpful.
Great location, nice and tidy. Some new furniture compared with last time.
Nice and quiet> The hot water is very hot which is good.
Will stay again for the great value!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second floor is better?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliverlee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this motel on 15th March 2013 for one night. We arrived in Taupo after a long drive from Wellington (almost half way into our holiday so we were tired) and we were greeted by the hotel manager George in a warm and courteous manner.

We had only 1 night and half a day in Taupo before heading toward Rotorua and George was most helpful in guiding us to the best places to see in such a short time frame. Although he could not accommodate us in any of the rooms on the ground level, which was a bit tough as we had a lot of luggage and a child but what made our stay pleasant, was the fact that he was cheerful and friendly.

The room was nice and clean and all amenities were provided as listed in the facilities. The hotel was also close to everything which is handy for travelers.

We will recommend this hotel; if you’re not after very modern accommodation, you will not go wrong here.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room on the ground level as the stairs are hard if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Booked a two bedroom place here as the rest of Taupo was booked out. Not bad, had two bedrooms upstairs, kitchen, toilets, shower, lounge/dinning down stars.
It lacked any information in the unit about the Motel, so it was play the guessing game as to what the channels were on the TV, went booking out was, what do you need to do to ring out ETC, in fact there was nothing to let you know about anything about the Motel. But not a biggy as it kept us busy finding and exploring the place. It was quite and acceptable, there was no air conditioning, but we do not have that at home so again not a biggy
There is a big yard area, enough to kick a ball around and let off some steam and handy to the shops. The view would have been good if "The Warehouse" had not blocked it, but we were there for somewhere to sleep, and do our thing around the place during the day. It was surprisingly quite with no noise coming from the next room that you usually get. You do not get the usual soaps and shampoo and other trimmings just towels and liquid soap dispencers

Room Tip: The two, 2 bed units that are on there own worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akkron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I and my family stayed in this hotel in a deluxe family suite for one night. The rooms were of good size. All the fittings were very old and basin and kitchen taps did not have mixture. The showering area was very small with no liquid soap in the dispenser.. No soaps, shampoo and shower caps were provided. As no milk was available in the fridge we had to ask for it. The carpet was old and with stains. The room was smelly. The electric cooker was not working. The communal BBQ was not cleaned for a long time. The trampoline did not have safety net. The spa pool was filled with dirty water. I requested to get it cleaned at 4 pm and was not ready for bath by next day morning. The window curtains were so thin that we woke up at 6 0' clock due to morning sun light. I can write more about our one day experience but do not want you to waste your time reading it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiv1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 68 in Taupo
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#18 of 68 in Taupo
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chevron Motel
Chevron Motel
#44 of 68 in Taupo
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#41 of 68 in Taupo
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taupo Urban Retreat
Taupo Urban Retreat
#20 of 34 in Taupo
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £64 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing