We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average.”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #62 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Below average.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice service but the room was very unclean with many appliances unusable. The room slept 5 but there was only enough crockery for 3 which was inconvenient. Overall the service was apologetic and friendly but I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigaillawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    25
    11
    14
See reviews for
42
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was a bit wary of booking at a non Qualmark rated property, but was pleasantly surprised. The hosts were friendly and helpful and my daughter enjoyed the spa pool. Supermarket just down the road and close to town.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leabeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This motel was fine for a night's stopover. We had a one bedroom unit but it was a bit tired - some fittings needed attention - and the shower setup was a bit strange. However it was clean and comfortable and walkable to town centre and water front and other amenities which was great on a fine summer evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianMc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turangi, , New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked for 3 nights.
Arrived Wed night. The room is very dated. No milk in unit, no shamp/cond or soap in shower. The lights fused and the unit plunged into darkness. No - one avaliable till the morning to fix lights.The heater did not work in the unit. There was no information for motel including number to reception or tv channel/s. Our vehicle was blocked in as another guest had parked their car in front of the back drive area to our unit. We were forced to drive up the back paddock and down a steep hill to get out of the complex. Not impressed at all!
Even though the host was friendly and assisted promptly with the lighting, i would not go back here at all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbyGurl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Very friendly hosts, and very happy, the place is close to town and within walking distance of the township. We had no problems and enjoyed the stay apprt from the Tau8po rubbish collector arriving in the street below at about 6am this is something that unfortunately happens in a town and is beyond the control of anyone. Recommend it to anyone travelling through

Room Tip: No Poool or fitness centre but who needs that on holiday eat drink and be merry, not fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My second time stay - the new owner is friendly and helpful.
Great location, nice and tidy. Some new furniture compared with last time.
Nice and quiet> The hot water is very hot which is good.
Will stay again for the great value!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Second floor is better?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliverlee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at this motel on 15th March 2013 for one night. We arrived in Taupo after a long drive from Wellington (almost half way into our holiday so we were tired) and we were greeted by the hotel manager George in a warm and courteous manner.

We had only 1 night and half a day in Taupo before heading toward Rotorua and George was most helpful in guiding us to the best places to see in such a short time frame. Although he could not accommodate us in any of the rooms on the ground level, which was a bit tough as we had a lot of luggage and a child but what made our stay pleasant, was the fact that he was cheerful and friendly.

The room was nice and clean and all amenities were provided as listed in the facilities. The hotel was also close to everything which is handy for travelers.

We will recommend this hotel; if you’re not after very modern accommodation, you will not go wrong here.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose a room on the ground level as the stairs are hard if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.6 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#38 of 69 in Taupo
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absolute Lake View Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#49 of 69 in Taupo
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Chalet Suisse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Property: Barcelona Motel
Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing