We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant”
Review of Barcelona Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelona Motel
Ranked #61 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Pleasant stay for 2 nights and I would definitely stay here again. The unit was clean, all furnishings tidy and in a good location - close to Supermarkets etc.
Hosts very friendly. Ample supply of crockery , cutlery etc. We went off site to swim and used our guests towels.We had no problems getting extra towels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMumWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked online, looked nice. Hosts friendly but that was about it. Spa was cold for the 2 days we were there, only 1 out of four lamps had light bulbs, Very cold units, and they turn the heaters off when they do the servicing so you come back to cold units with little kids, No milk in units, No Sky TV, no motel book. Units not clean, as there was Mould in the Bathroom and toilet. Yuk. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Even though we stayed at this motel the same weekend every year and book and confirm one year ahead,and even an email was sent two weeks before we arrived this year We had no room to stay in.Go down to one of the motels on the waterfront same price for more modern rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Nice service but the room was very unclean with many appliances unusable. The room slept 5 but there was only enough crockery for 3 which was inconvenient. Overall the service was apologetic and friendly but I definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigaillawton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was a bit wary of booking at a non Qualmark rated property, but was pleasantly surprised. The hosts were friendly and helpful and my daughter enjoyed the spa pool. Supermarket just down the road and close to town.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leabeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This motel was fine for a night's stopover. We had a one bedroom unit but it was a bit tired - some fittings needed attention - and the shower setup was a bit strange. However it was clean and comfortable and walkable to town centre and water front and other amenities which was great on a fine summer evening.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianMc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked for 3 nights.
Arrived Wed night. The room is very dated. No milk in unit, no shamp/cond or soap in shower. The lights fused and the unit plunged into darkness. No - one avaliable till the morning to fix lights.The heater did not work in the unit. There was no information for motel including number to reception or tv channel/s. Our vehicle was blocked in as another guest had parked their car in front of the back drive area to our unit. We were forced to drive up the back paddock and down a steep hill to get out of the complex. Not impressed at all!
Even though the host was friendly and assisted promptly with the lighting, i would not go back here at all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbyGurl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
0.4 mi away
Tiki Lodge
Tiki Lodge
#10 of 34 in Taupo
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haka Lodge Taupo
Haka Lodge Taupo
#2 of 34 in Taupo
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Finlay Jack's Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Adelphi Motel
Adelphi Motel
#34 of 68 in Taupo
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chevron Motel
Chevron Motel
#39 of 68 in Taupo
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Motel

Address: 21 Taniwha Street, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £51 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelona Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelona Motel is housed in a Mediterranean-style complex and features a private courtyard. A 5-minute walk from Taupo’s town centre, it offers free parking on site and free Wi-Fi access.Heated apartments have a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, a stove and a microwave. There is a lounge area with sofa and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels.Guests can enjoy a gas barbecue at the hotel’s private courtyard. Parking for boats and trailers are available.A cooked/continental breakfast can be enjoyed in the comfort of guests’ own rooms.Motel Barcelona is a 5-minute walk from Gascoinge Street Bus Depot and Tongariro Street, the main shopping street. Taupo Airport is a 10-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelona Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing