We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Highly reccomend this motel. An enjoyable place to stay with comfortable rooms and a lovely spa pool. The staff were extremely helpful and lovely to chat with. Karaka Tree is nice and quiet. Its a very short walk to the lake and a nice walk to the town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinderprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Karaka Tree Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was a great place to stay, good value for money, Excellent friendly staff and lovely in room spa, would definitely recommend this motel to anyone!
The rooms were a good size, and had a very comfortable bed. Minibar was well stocked with everything we needed.
The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating, and there seemed to be a number of very friendly guests also, indicating they attract similar guests to the staff there. Love this motel and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you so much for your comments wayne and we love to have you and your partner back anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Karaka Tree Motel last week on the way to Turoa for a couple of days skiing. We have 2 little kids 6 & 8 years old. The rooms were large, clean and had everything you needed. I travel a lot around the world, at least overseas once a month and stay at all kinds of hotels. One thing I know to be true about how clean a place to be is by how clean the glass, etc. are in the rooms and I have to say the plates, glass, everything at the Karaka were very clean, I didn't feel like I had to re-clean the glasses before I took a drink. The main feature of the motel for us was the DEEP MINERAL SPA POOL, which was very private and fills up with hot natural mineral water in a few minutes. It was so deep and felt sooooo good that I will always stay at the Karaka on all trips requiring a stay in Taupo. I would highly recommend this motel for business travelers as well as it has a lot of good parking, easy access to the town, is right next to the lake, the rooms are quiet and with the spa you can have a deep relax to unwind for the day. Other's comments might say that the motel is a bit tied and needs a bit of renovation, well to those people I suggests they go and check into a 5 star international hotel and PAY THE MONEY! This motel is not tied, it is lovely and warm and a great deal. The family who run it have a small young family of their own and they are the salt of the earth, they made a really nice cooked breakfast for us just like Mum does. This is a great place to stay and enjoy! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get that spa pools filled up and yourself soaking as soon as you check in!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Morning Nigel,
Thank you so much for the great review its nice to know that our guests are enjoying their stay and that we are making them feel welcome, we are new to this and it makes me happy that we are making a difference even if it is just a little bit. we both hope that you do return as we would love to have you back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Shona and Matt [managers] immediately radiated welcome and warmth to weary travellers. They instantly connected with my wife and I [former moteliers], and upon hearing our request, offered their options smartly. The room was large with comfortable furnishings and a hot mineral spa pool out the back in an enclosed and private courtyard. The bed was warm and comfortable and yet the rooms were not well lit. Breakfast was hot and on time. Cleaners need a good kick if they are to maintain quality. We think the room was reasonably priced and the service of a high quality. Would recommend to all.

C and S

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTmgt, Manager at Karaka Tree Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you calvin, we love to hear our feed back and deal with what needs to be addressed. we hope to see yourself and your lovely wife again and hope your moving went well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

when we first arrived the girl at reception was friendly and recognised us by a special request we had which was nice and made it feel more personal. when getting to the room it was spacious, clean, and the separate spa room was so good. its safe to say this was the nicest spa we have had. upon request, the kitchenette was stocked with extra hot choc and no tea and coffee which was greatly appreciated. the bed gave us a comfortable nights sleep, and it was nice and quiet. we requested room service for breakfast and that was delivered to our room right on time and was fresh and hot. so overall this hotel was excellent value for money and a really good experience and I will have no problems recommending this place to any of my family and friends. thank you for the great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our overnight stay here was great. Friendly helpful and informative staff.
Spa pool was fantastic just outside on the deck but private would definetly go back and stay.The room was very comfortable with a good shower and good value for money plenty of towels etc which sometimes you dont seem to get in some motels.
Debbie L

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I didn't book this, and it probably wouldnt have been my choice, but we ended up here because of wider family considerations. They have larger family units with 2, 3 rooms which is great for a family. I and daughter stayed in one of the upstairs standard size suites. However the rooms were..."tired" in terms of furnishings and decor.
I thought for the price it was not worth it.

Good points...bed was comfortable and clean, so had a good nights sleep. The spa is a mineral one, so you get that mineral smell , but its hot and great to soak in after a long drive or day out in the brisk winter weather.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms give you a peep of the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Trazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.5 mi away
Accent on Taupo Motor Lodge
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#45 of 69 in Taupo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Birchlands Motel
Birchlands Motel
#22 of 69 in Taupo
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range: £52 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing