We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average room in need of updating”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average room in need of updating”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a downstairs room and I believe the upstairs rooms are a much higher standard. The couple at reception were fantastic. Friendly and helpful. A credit to the industry. However the room was dated and included the odd cobweb and fingerprints on doors and walls. Unlikely to stay again when there are better quality motels around the same price. Reading the compendium showed they are connected to the parklane in takapuna. On comparison this is 100 times better then my fawlty towers experience when I stayed with them! Sincerely hope this motel doesn't continue deteriorating like the parklane has.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerylC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    63
    47
    28
See reviews for
88
92
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Great little motel, spas in every room and a complete treat. We've been back twice now and would recommend it to everyone who travels to Taupo. The rooms are clean and tidy and there is a well-equipped kitchen so you can eat in on cold nights.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zureena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Karaka tree motel was most impressive with there service and hospitality,as our original bookings were misplaced they were very quick to rectify the smallest error with a free upsize of room for the same price not only that also free breakfast for four which was huge, highly recommended to all

much love from

Shaye,Pamela,Ace and Amber

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my partner loved our stay at Karaka Tree Motel, highly recommend. Spacious rooms, deep relaxing spas, comfortable, warm, clean very lovely staff including the management, thank you for going out of your way to get discounts for local attractions we really appreciate your help. If ever we come back to the great lake we'll defiantly be staying again - Rob & Kath

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath7512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matamata, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Reception greeted us warmly and when asking about the price of Internet being so expensive at $20 for 2 hours, I was told tomorrow was changing to Telecom Hotspot which was $5 for 2 hours. Way more acceptable I thought so I waited. As promised, it happened and I was given internet access for free. The drawcard with this motel is the mineral spa pool which is in the Studio room on the top level. The view of the lake is gradually being obliterated by the neighbour's trees which is such a shame. The motel was extremely dirty. There was dust around the edges of the carpet and the mirrors were dirty. The bed was poorly made the days we stayed there. The spa, although I understand chemicals can't be used, was caked with yellow film which I could remove with elbow grease. When we turned the ceiling fan on in the spa room, water poured out. Very dangerous I would think so we reported that on leaving. An acknowledgement of my husbands 65th birthday would have been nice. What is the cost of a card left in the room? I do hope the managers who had only been here 2 weeks can improve things here. They have a lot of work ahead of them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This has long been a favourite spot. This time, we stayed in two different rooms during our stay. They both had broken furniture, in one the sofa was so badly broken it wasn't useful for sitting. It is obvious that the owners have stopped spending as much on upkeep, and the resuls are disheartening. After spending my Taupo time exclusively at this motel for 4 years and bringing several lots of overseas friends and family to stay here, we have decided that after our latest visit we would be looking for a new "fave" motel. Service is still very friendly, but just no longer has the infrastructure to back it up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Highly reccomend this motel. An enjoyable place to stay with comfortable rooms and a lovely spa pool. The staff were extremely helpful and lovely to chat with. Karaka Tree is nice and quiet. Its a very short walk to the lake and a nice walk to the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinderprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#43 of 69 in Taupo
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
VU Thermal Lodge
VU Thermal Lodge
#48 of 69 in Taupo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Acacia Lake View Motel
Acacia Lake View Motel
#45 of 69 in Taupo
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Motel at Rainbow Point
1.3 mi away
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Lake Taupo Motor Inn
#24 of 69 in Taupo
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Property: Karaka Tree Motel
Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing