We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Worn”
Review of Karaka Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karaka Tree Motel
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Watford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Worn”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I hate to say this but the Karaka Tree Motel was the most probally the worst of all Motels we stayed in while in New Zealand. It wasn't dirty, just very shabby and worn including the linen. I think the 4 star qualmark is perhaps a little generous. Our room was a reasonable size and it did have a Spa Bath but personally I wouldn't have sat in it, didn't look that clean to me. One of the other guests used theirs and it was extremely noisy. Our room was upstairs and the stairs were not particuarly nice to climb and I guess they would be quite slippery if it rained. The location of the Motel is quite some way out of Taupo centre, certainly not an easy walk. The Karaka Tree is one of the last Motels as you drive out of town and on that road between the town centre and the karaka Tree there is a very large choice of Motels.

Room Tip: If you can't manage stairs make sure you ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZigTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    54
    63
    46
    27
See reviews for
86
92
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely disgusted , but had booked to stay with credit card so had to stay one night, dirty wet cleaning rag left on couch ( genuinely surprised it had actually been used) , old crappy teatowls ( the ones with the squares) popular cheap style , flannel is similar to what I have just thrown away as it had a hard life , the worst part was .. No duvet cover on ripped inner ! That is gross on so many levels , came home itchy , yuck , couch hasent seen a vacuum , bed was also on a lean which made feet higher not that there was much sleep as was grossed out .... Would never stay again , would had a better night sleep in a hostel with much less of a price tag, ripped off ,

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fellerhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taupo hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night and found this place to be pretty good.

This place is located on the main road of Taupo along with all of the other motels. There is a lot of traffic on this road and it is hard to walk across the road to the walkway beside the lake due to all the traffic. Despite the location, this motel is very quiet and we had no trouble getting to sleep.

The rooms are very dated, however, they are a good size and include a kitchenette.

The highlight of the room is the spa pool. This was located inside our studio room and we enjoyed using this pool.

If you can get a good deal, I would recommend staying here. The spa pool is definitely the highlight.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An aging but well maintained property, it presented as clean and neat. The inroom spa is enormous and apparently thermal spring fed, I did not try but judged based on the inlet pipe, sulpha stains and geothermal region.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and carried my bag upstairs once they heard I had an injured knee. My continal breakfast was delivered that night to allow an early rise or sleep in.

Room Tip: Top level serviced by stairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had booked a 2 bed roomed apartment 6 months in advance so were a bit surprised to be put in the disabled suite. The whole place is a a bit tired and in need of a makeover. The people in reception were fine. The spa was nice but very noisy later at night when next door filled theirs at 10.30. Did think the beds could have done with a thicker covering over the electric blankets. All in all an average place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As opposed to some of the reviews we found our downstairs unit quite tidy apart from some dirt in the outdoor spa which was quickly remedied.The manager also was very helpful in trying to make provision for my wife (with a bad knee) to get into the spa by providing a step. I understand that units are in the process of being upgraded. However it took several requests to have the kitchen light replaced. The main attraction is the spas with plenty of hot water. Management were also helpful in recommending eat places that gave free drinks..

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have Spa inside, maybe easier to get into but outdoor stairs awkward in wet weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here as we were keen to try the little private mineral pool in the private patio.
Our hosts greeted us in tank tops and shorts at the front desk. So first impressions were 'not very professional'... and it was all downhill from there.
The room was so desparate for attention, walls were dirty and patched but not finished. Furniture was threadbare and holes in carpet. Bed was old with paperthin mattress protector over electric blanket. There was no duvet cover (just a sheet) to cover the torn duvet inner.
We dumped our bags and went out coming home for a swim and then bed. If it wasn't for the little pool we would have left. The pool was OK, also needing a spruce up and the jets needed attention.
The upstairs rooms are cheaper ( I hate to think what they are like) and they also have pools which are enclosed in a room in the unit, I would suggest you inspect before checking in...
We won't be back, and wouldn't recommend.
The cost of the room was $165NZ, no value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inspection before checking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Acapulco Motor Inn
Acapulco Motor Inn
#21 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Lakeland Resort Taupo
#40 of 69 in Taupo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bay Court Motel
Bay Court Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phoenix Resort
Phoenix Resort
#34 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaka Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaka Tree Motel

Property: Karaka Tree Motel
Address: 216 Lake Terrace, Taupo TAUPO, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Karaka Tree Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karaka Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karaka Tree Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing