We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!!”
Review of Taco Taco - CLOSED

Taco Taco
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've been twice in the last two months with friends and both times we have been impressed with the friendly service, delicious meals, yummy cocktails. Looking forward to going back with the kids. Big thumbs up!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Had a great night at taco taco. The serves was amazing, food was delicious and cocktails were to die for.. They had a great selection of tequila and I would come back to taco taco again

Helpful?
2 Thank davidmY4011RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Had a lovely Mother's Day meal last night at Taco Taco on TuWharetoa Street. Went there as other places were fully booked. Great easy going atmosphere. Super service with special attention to the kids and making sure they were happy. Food was great and good value. Will definitely be going there again. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trafalgarhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Simply the best!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After seeing rave reviews on my Facebook homepage we decided to give taco taco a try on our weekend getaway to Taupo! So glad we did! We were warmly greeted by friendly staff, the ambience was refreshing and the place was decorated with an intriguing mixture of Mexican and vintage which suited the recycled decor that has to be fully inspected to be appreciated! This family friendly restaurant nestled between lack luster establishments holds so much charm and provided the perfect backdrop for a great meal. But meals aren't the only thing this establishment excels at. The cocktails are a must have, they're packed with flavor, and created with flair! But the best part of our night was the staff! Constantly waited on by smiling, happy staff members who were more than willing to cater to your every need. Very rarely do you come across staff members who seemed to really enjoy being there and happily worked well together! Our two waitresses (one named Britney) ensured we didn't have to leave our table and treated us like we were the only customers there! The bartender always smiling and accommodating was so skilled at making cocktails! He was a pleasure to watch. If you want a wonderful meal with unique decor and great service then this little gem in the heart of Taupo is a must try! TLC!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelfromNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great food shame about waitress”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Food was outstanding!! Cocktails were delicious! Great looking place! Although we were not impressed with the service by the young waitresses that were on. Quiet rude and obviously had somewhere better to be, luckily the two gentleman that were working were very professional and did a great job. The two girls should take note

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerradsmith12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Taco also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing