We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely little cinema ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Cinema Centre

Starlight Cinema Centre
Ranked #7 of 9 Fun & Games in Taupo
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely little cinema ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great experience at the cinema. Friendly staff. Cheap price for ticket. Small cinema. Comfy chairs. Great as a change from sitting in hostel common rooms !

Helpful?
Thank DNC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    4
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liven up!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Staff members need to liven up and be more friendly towards customers!
they act like they would be anywhere thats not there!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raez21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good place to get out of the rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our two hour break from our campervan after an afternoon of rain. The price for seniors was reasonable, and the seats were comfortable. They serve beer, wine and ice cream!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zeland
Level Contributor
249 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“the smallest cinema you will have ever been in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We went to see an afternoon screening of the railway man, paid $14:50 each and were sent into what can only be described as the broom cupboard.

I have seen TV's with a bigger screen!

This tiny, TINY, room had just 10 seats !

The sound was too loud, the picture quality just about ok, but what gets me is I was neither told it was in the smallest cinema in NZ and I was charged the full ticket price as if I had been admitted to a normal full size cinema.

I suppose you have to go - just the once - to see it for your self

BUT STARLIGHT STOP RIPPING PUNTERS OFF BY CHARGING FULL PRICE

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“cinema buff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I love this small cinema - i've been with family, been with grandchildren and been on my own. The films shown are always the latest ones and there's plenty of choice. Seating is very comfortable and there's a good choice of confectionery and drinks at the counter. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gloria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starlight Cinema Centre also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Starlight Cinema Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing