We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”
Review of Whakaipo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whakaipo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 42 Taupo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I could not fault this stay, in a really well designed lodge with a luxury room, our hosts were simply perfect, it felt like staying with friends, we were welcomed with a cup of tea and a wonderful home made gluten free cake, the best gluten free food I have had anywhere! Followed by wine and canapés before we were driven to our restaurant for the evening. Breakfast was equally wonderful and the day was completed with a fabulous birthday cake . The only downside is that it didn't have a lake view but that was more than made up for by beautiful gardens in a peaceful country location a few minutes only from the lake. The attention to detail and the extra mile our hosts went to meant we would love to return and would recommend to anyone looking for that something special.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ssl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Taking care of people with special dietary requirements and ensuring they feel pampered too is especially important to us. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

A wonderful luxurious lodge set in the most beautiful and peaceful garden. This lodge offered far more than expected. Our suite was very spacious and equipped with everything one may need. Luxuriously furnished and a wonderfully comfortable bed. What really made our two nights at the lodge a memorable experience was the superb hosts, Garth & Angie. They really made us feel welcome and happy to help out with anything one may need. Delicious breakfast, coffee, morning & afternoon tea and so much more! We stayed for two nights during the Lake Taupo cycling challenge and if we enter again next year, we will most definitely return to this lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MozB212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthL929, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed your company over the Cycle Challenge weekend. We look forward very much to welcoming you and your family back to Whakaipo Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A wonderfully peaceful and tranquil lodge for getting away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. The lodge provides country seclusion whilst still being close enough to enjoy all that Taupo and the surrounds have to offer. Garth and Angie were the perfect hosts, happily helping out with the toddler so that Mum and Dad could enjoy some time out. One night just wasn't long enough! We look forward to planning a longer stay and utilising Garth's knowledge to get out into the great outdoors. Oh and also having some more of his great coffee :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarthL929, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review. Really pleased you liked the coffee. We look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy what Whakaipo Lodge & Great Lake Taupo have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Total tranquility inside and out, a beautiful lodge, and lovely gardens. The early camellias were just starting to flower when we were there, and cheeky fantails darted about. Loved getting to know the sheep, too! But the best thing was the warm Kiwi welcome from Garth and Angie. It really felt like they were sharing their home with us - their favourite spots to walk/cycle, tips on their favourite cafe, and of course the conversation about everything under the sun. Angie's cooking was amazing and we were really impressed and grateful that she pulled out all the stops to cater for a very restrictive low FODMAP diet - and made it incredibly delicious in the process. (We took a few recipe ideas home with us.) Many thanks for a very relaxing weekend, we'll certainly be back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CMR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaipoLodge, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our new lodge. The gardens are indeed blooming spectacularly with the spring weather. We look forward to your return to Whakaipo Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Beautiful lodge set in park-like grounds. Close to great cycling, and an easy drive to cafes and Taupo. Welcoming and knowledgable hosts. We're looking forward to going back in summer so we can swim in the lake.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhakaipoLodge, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your review of our new lodge. We look forward to welcoming you on your return for that lake swim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie L, Owner at Whakaipo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
6.3 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,184 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.6 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
9.5 mi away
The Pillars Retreat
The Pillars Retreat
#2 of 42 in Taupo
280 reviews
6 mi away
Huka Lodge
Huka Lodge
#3 of 42 in Taupo
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whakaipo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whakaipo Lodge

Address: 1/504 Mapara Road RD 5 | Acacia Bay, Taupo 3385, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Price Range: £173 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Whakaipo Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning lodge nestled in serene beauty adjacent to Whakaipo Bay, you'll truly discover the best that Lake Taupo has to offer. Stunning location, luxury accommodation, gourmet food & wine and great company are all here in abundance. So sit back and relax in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whakaipo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing