We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views”
Review of Top House

Top House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top House
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Top House in December. What a wonderfully designed house with amazing views of the lake. We were 2 couples and we each took a bedroom with the direct views of the lake and mountains, what a way to waken up in the morning. You need a car as main restaurants are about 15-20 minute drive. Only criticism would be that some parts of the house are “tired” looking and would benefit from some maintenance but apart from that we have a very relaxing time in this house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We rented this house for two night recently. It has truly amazing views of the lake. The architecture of the house maximizes the beautiful scenery with floor to ceiling windows in every room. There is a large central room with two separate seating areas, the dining area and kitchen in between. It's perfect for families. Would highly recommend if you are staying in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kfheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

WOW! The top house is the most amazing house we have ever stayed in, it was pure paradise for the weekend we was there, the house is just amazing,spacious & modern & the views are out of this world, the native bush & lake Taupo are viewd from every room & they take your breath away! The bedrooms are stunning & everything was 5 star hotel quailty just so comfortable. Even on a cloudy rainy day the house offers you relaxation to entertainment.
Highly recommended for couples & families you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jemmap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We recently stayed at The Top House Taupo with family and friends and was pleasantly surprised. The website does not do this property justice! The view is the first thing that strikes you as you walk into the front door. You feel as if you are on top of the lake. Amazing 180 degree 100% LAKE view. Each room has this amazing view. The house itself is gorgeous, well designed and very comfortable.
Very quiet surroundings.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChristineG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We travelled from Australia to spent a long weekend here at the Top House to celebrate our good friend's 50th birthday. We shared the accomodation with 4 other couples and two teenagers. Beautifully designed, winning a NZ architectural award, we wanted for nothing. There was plenty of room and all furnishings, beds, linen and amenities were top class. Top House is secluded in a gated estate about ten minutes drive from Taupo, but there's a helipad on the estate if you'd prefer to fly in! It is extremely private and an ideal getaway if you are looking for a very contemporary, upmarket holiday home for a family or a group.
The views from every room are remarkable, you don't dare look away less you miss something. Sleep with the curtains open so you can appreciate the vista across the lake to the mountains at dawn. Watching the weather come in across the lake was amazingly powerful.
We were extremely finely catered for by Chrissie and Steve from BodyFuel cafe in Taupo. Their food was wonderful and I can highly recommend.
This place was 'tops' and you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

We stayed at the Top House for two nights on a trip through New Zealand and it was absolutely fantastic. The house's location is enough to leave you in awe but then you start to look around the house itself and it is just incredible. Floor to ceiling windows almost everywhere overlooking Lake Taupo (New Zealand's largest lake) with five bedrooms and ample baths, comfy couches, nice porches and seclusion from everything. We loved the Top House and would really like to go back. We also found a nice restaurant nearby on our last night there - the brick over pizza place is actually much more sophisticated than just plain old pizza and should not be missed.

  • Liked — Location, privacy, overall house
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RCRGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 October 2004

Just spent three days at the stunning Top House and can highly recommend it. The location is amazing and the house is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
2.6 mi away
The Loft
The Loft
#42 of 69 in Taupo
44 reviews
2.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.9 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,078 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clearwater Motor Lodge
Clearwater Motor Lodge
#12 of 69 in Taupo
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top House

Property: Top House
Address: 42 The Point | Acacia Bay, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 312

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing