We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

A very clean and well appointed room, they have clearly been recently updated. All basics were included (Kettle, ironing board, soaps etc). Staff were friendly and breakfast had hot and cold options. Central location

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    91
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
107
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Clean basic and comfortable rooms. Enjoyable breakfast with a good selection. Pleasant service from the staff. The reward card is a good idea too. We enjoyed being out of the town centre and within an easy walk to the lake. Nice views.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor so you can take advantage of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLMSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks, and we agree - the views are lovely! Our Loyalty card is a great incentive for regular visitors to Taupo.. "Stay 9 nights and get your 10th night free".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This is a fairly large two-storey hotel, and takes coach tours (there is noting more annoying than a bus idling for 20 minutes outside your room). The fact I was able to get a booking between Christmas and New Year shows they have a lot of rooms to fill. But that meant good value. The room was typical hotel (only coffee making facilities, sorry), but appeared to have been 'recently upgraded' as promised with a 40" LCD TV. Didn't try the restaurant (got put off by the 'bog standard' menu) and decided to have breakfast in Taupo. Went for a night walk along the lakefront, where there are hot streams flowing in. We got what we paid for, thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid the bus park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you for mentioning the 'idling bus' in your review and bringing to this our attention. I agree, no one wants to hear that when they're trying to have a sleep in. I have taken your comments direct to the bus company and they have assured me that they will be reveiwing their policy regarding the starting of the buses in front of guests rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Room was just what you expect for the $$ paid, price is pretty fair with breakfast etc, breakfast buffet is basic but decent enough. Would definitely avoid the restaurant for dinner- staff were limited and atmosphere lacking and the food was not made as fresh as it should. Entree' was chicken satay with a bottle sauce for dipping, garlic calamari had was supposed to have wasabi aoli- it was simply tartare- not impressed, dinner was salmon with Asian dressing (from a bottle also by the taste of it) but the salmon was well cooked, dinner of seafood platter was ALL out of a packet - frozen calamari rings etc. So to sum it up- ok and fair price to stay accommodation wise, but skip the restaurant for any meals other than an included breakfast.
Reception staff lovely and pleasant too...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLZ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
I am very sorry to hear of your experience dining in our restaurant. I have spoken with the kitchen regarding the wrong ingredients with your calamari meal as I agree that this is not good enough and should not have happened. Please be assured that our meals are always prepared to a very high standard and our restaurant does have a very good reputation amongst both new guests and all our regular clientele.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Room was very clean although there was a spider in the corner which looked like he had been there for a while!.
View from room was fantastic overlooking the lake and the lady on reception kindly let us view the room before booking which was fab. Is a bit far from town and it would have been nice to have walked rather than drive.
Reception staff were excellent and very helpful as my son was not well so allowed me to collect a meal to take to our room rather than charge for room service.
Fab facilities i.e swimming pool, spa and Tennis court.
Breakfast was good we had the fried breakfast which was included in the price.
Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room on the first level and try to get one with a view overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandymoo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Our apologies for the spider. As you will see from other reviews,we do pride ourselves on our very clean rooms. Our housekeeping department work extremely hard to deliver a very high standard of cleanliness for our guests comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We had a very nice room with a view for our one night stay.The room had a large wide screen TV with lots of channels which was great as well as electric mattress pads.The room was very clean, neat and well appointed. The front office staff was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we were told that breakfast was served until 9:30. Since this holiday is supposed to be leisurely we got to the restaurant to eat at 8:45 thinking we still had plenty of time.There was a large variety of different foods to select from.I got a bowl of cereal and coffee first and then at 9:10 went to get my hot food items.Since the food was on a higher level, I did not see until I walked up the stair that all the food had been cleared away. I asked the woman who was picking up some of the dishes and she said the chef told her to clear everything and she just works there so she does what she is told. This was said with a rather huffy and uncaring tone. I explained that I was told that breakfast was served until 9:30 but she stated again she just works there. She stated she said she was going to pick up dishes earlier. I said , since at that point we were only ones in the restaurant, we did not ever hear anyone say anything and she said SORRY! again with the huffy tone and not sounding sincere at all but rather miffed like I was out of line to even ask about it. She was quite rude. Since we were the only ones there maybe she could have come to our table to say this as they do at other places. They should keep her away from the public because there was nothing warm or friendly about this lady. There was a lot of food still on the table when we got there and they had only recently cleared the food from the table and also have a restaurant on the premises so I was a bit surprised when they couldn't even offer to get me a plate since they had obviously cleared too early. If this woman had been nicer I probably would have let it go but since she wasn't, I spoke to the front desk and explained the situation. They agreed that the food should not have been cleared away and did remove the cost of the breakfast. So that was handled well but it kind of spoiled our stay due to the bad attitude more than anything else.

Room Tip: Be sure and eat early if your room rate includes breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
My sincere apologies for the breakfast incident. The Lakeland Resort prides itself on our outstanding customer service and it is very disheartening to hear that we have let our customers down in this instance. Please be assured that the matter has been dealt with, and we sincerely trust that this incident will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peru
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have stayed @ Lakeland for 5 years + and always we have seen some improvment
the rooms have ( Nearly?) been upgraded, the place is semi quiet ( When people decide not to talk outside your door) but courtesy and respect is not given to everyone.....

The staff is more than helpful and courteous, the Breakfast is generous and and varied.
Sadly on special event, in Taupo, where an erly breakfast would be required, the restaurant is not flexible to open earlier once or twice a year, but that is life.....

This year we were surprise to have the spa pool temperature turned down ( hot tub?) and with the new signs in the Spa Pool room I gather some kind of guest from the rising Sun Country find the Spa toooooo Hot.........and requested to be turn down to a bath temperature.


Lovely view to the lake from the Motel, definitively a nice play to stay.

Room Tip: No choice you get what the Motel gives you .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Many thanks for your review. However I wish to advise that on the weekend you stayed we did accommodate our guests by opening early for breakfast, as we always do on these major sporting weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#44 of 69 in Taupo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
637 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Property: Lakeland Resort Taupo
Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing