We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay at Taupo.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay at Taupo.”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We (3 couples from the Lion City) just drove into Taupo looking for accommodations for two nights (1st & 2nd Sep2013). After four checks at various places, we were still not happy with the accommodations offered to us. We actually had shortlisted some accommodations from Trip Advisor and AA Guide for Accommodations.

We finally pulled into the driveway of Lakeland Resort Taupo. Here we were greeted by pretty Gill, a lovely front desk staff. Three beautiful rooms were accorded to us. Tried as she did, Gill could not get the three rooms next to each other. Anyway they were close by, so it's ok.

The 2nd day at Taupo, Gill and the Manager Julie (hope we got her name correct........sorry, met so many people on our trip) helped to book us on the Ernest Kemp lake cruise and Maori Rock Carving viewing.

That evening we had a soak in the resort's spa pool. It's was so great and everyone enjoyed themselves. Next, Gill also booked us for dinner at the resort's restaurant. The double Lamb Shank was to die for.......just melts in your mouth feeling.

Overall we had a wonderful and memorable time at Lakeland Resort Taupo.

Thank you Gill, we love you. Cheers !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Ohh thank you all! We loved having you, and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lakeland. Yes those Lamb Shanks are great too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    91
    58
    14
    8
See reviews for
32
105
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Needed a one-night stopover on a road trip with a friend. Rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast buffet was plentiful and of good quality. We were allocated two upstairs units next to each other and were both happy with them. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks so much ...we're pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I was very impressed with my brief stay at Lakeland Resort Taupo. I only stayed here for one night as part of my Contiki tour, but would love to have stayed longer. The rooms were well sized, modern, and with very comfortable beds. I had a very comfortable, sound sleep and wasn't awoken from any outside noise or noise from the room above mine.

The bathrooms were immaculate, spacious, ultra-modern and something that is a rarity in NZ - had showers not designed for hobbits!! I'm 6'3" in height, and most of the hotels I stayed at had shower heads at a very uncomfortable height that weren't adjustable that saw me have to lean over to wash my hair, not at Lakeland Resort Taupo. The showers were ideal for my height. And they provided amazing water pressure, a small creature comfort but something else that I find to be important.

The hotel is well maintained and includes a host of nice little features, including a generous sized swimming pool (not that it got any use from me on this trip being that I visited in July!!) and a tennis court - which on the other hand got plenty of use. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. Oh, and free wifi!! A rarity in any hotel but very pleasantly welcomed.

I can't think of a single thing I'd have liked improved from my time at Lakeland Resort Taupo, except for wanting to spend more time there. When I return to NZ independently outside of a tour group, I will absolutely be returning to this hotel. Nothing but praise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lakeland. Please do come back and enjoy some good old Taupo hospitality soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed hear In June, July, August 2013 for one to two nights each stay. The rooms are always clean and tidy & quiet. The buffet breakfast in the Restaurant next to the reception is very good and well stocked. The reception staff are always friendly and helpfully. The wireless internet is a good speed and doesn't drop out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ev-Court
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments, we certainly appreciate your custom. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

4th stay there now, our hotel of choice in Taupo. Good value, clean rooms, helpful staff. Buffet breakfast is good honest tucker, no fancy stuff that the kids turn their noses up at.... and all you can eat.

Room Tip: We haven't had a 'bad' room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
And we love having you too! See you again soon, and thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Took a large group to this Hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy and plenty of parking. Fair pricing and well maintained property. Restaurant onsite. Would be good if the rooms had some cutlery in them for quests to use. Will be back

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are Are great for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardT2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. Here at the Lakeland we offer a great Loyalty program for our repeat customers. And please ask for cutlery next time as we will happily provide it if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Outside of hotel seemed nice and location but beds I didn't like, place was tidy but small rooms may be too small and beds worn very soft, was uncomfortable
stayed one night decided to go to another hotel pretty average,

Room Tip: ask for solid beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We're sorry you found the beds uncomfortable, as you can appreciate it is a very hard to please everyone when it comes to their sleeping requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.8 mi away
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
Chantilly's Lake Taupo
#16 of 69 in Taupo
163 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 69 in Taupo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelmswood Motel
Chelmswood Motel
#35 of 69 in Taupo
258 reviews
6.0 mi away
Wairakei Resort Taupo
Wairakei Resort Taupo
#19 of 69 in Taupo
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Property: Lakeland Resort Taupo
Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing