We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeland Resort Taupo
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here one night on way to Napier. Gill (reception) and Richard( bar) are great hosts and do the management proud. the food was good and the location is great. Rooms are a little dated but are fine in regards to required amenities. I would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Yes we are very grateful for all our amazing staff here at the Lakeland. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    91
    58
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
107
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Overall it was an average stay. The checkin staff was friendly and the resort serves decent breakfast. There are ample parking space at the premises. However, if you have a lot of luggages, then ask for a room on the ground floor. The room is ok although it does look abit tired. It is a big size room though. It was winter and I thought the heater wasn't effectively enough. It was those type of heaters that help to warm up area around it and won't heat up the whole room. The entrance to your room is through a sliding window door. It doesn't feel secure and probably the reason why cold air is entering the room. Free wifi is available though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank General_koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your room as they have all been refurbished recently, still hope you enjoyed your stay in Taupo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the weekend we had a lovely clean room with wonderful view of the lake very comfortable bed. A great place to stay with a group as their is lots of room and plenty of space to park a trailer or boat. My only complaint was their was a group staying their who were very noisy with no consideration for other guests so hence we never got much sleep I was pleased it was only one night.

Room Tip: Stay up stairs with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtui10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Yes you're right, heaps of parking here, great for boat trailers etc. Hope to see you again soon, and don't forget we offer a great loyalty programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have stayed at the Lakeland on a number of occasions because it is relatively inexpensive and all we wanted was a bed for the night. The service has generally been good, the rooms have been acceptable and the breakfast service is adequate. On this occasion, the first for a while, we found that there has been some refurbishment undertaken and the room had a fresh feel to it though the walls and ceiling remained untouched. However, finding three long black hairs in the bath was rather irritating. Much more annoying were the very noisy guests that disrupted sleep until after midnight. The duty manager tried to intervene on three occasions to no avail then did nothing else. We received an apology from the person on the desk and from the manager but no offer of any sort of recompense for a poor night's sleep that occurred in part because of the ineffectiveness of the duty manager. This is the second time we have had such an experience at this motel which is unfortunate. On the rare occasion where something similar has occurred in other establishments there has been instant recognition of the responsibility to address the situation appropriately. The Lakeland seems to be draw some patrons who are looking for a cheap stay and who also have little sense of respect for others. It is a quite reasonable place otherwise and it is a pity management cannot be more proactive in managing behaviour of some guests who are disadvantaging the rest.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room for a possible sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruakaka, null, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for three nights with my wife for a break from work, Refurbished rooms comfortable. Only quibble was slightly noisy heat fan when it kicked in. No heat-pumps etc in rooms. Staff great attentive and friendly. Good meal in the restaurant and no complaints about the buffet breakfast. Good value for money. Only 45min walk along waterfront to CBD.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed here for one night. Receptionist was lovely when we arrived quite late. The room was nice and clean and we felt it was well worth the price charged for the room. Would definitely recommend this Resort to others, and will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZavanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you - we'd love to have you stay again soon, and appreciate your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I think that calling Lakeland a 'Resort' is overstating the fact. It is a motel situated on State Highway 1 between Auckland and Wellington and I certainly wouldn't recommend it for anything other than an overnight stay.

Not quite sure why other reviewers rave about the breakfast - pretty standard Buffett breakfast with cold bacon & cold rubbery scrambled egg.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: A room at another hotel would be my recommendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Lakeland Resort Taupo, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
We're really sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.2 mi away
Wellesley on the Lake Taupo
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oasis Beach Resort
Oasis Beach Resort
#43 of 69 in Taupo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
638 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alpine Lake Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeland Resort Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeland Resort Taupo

Property: Lakeland Resort Taupo
Address: 282 Lake Terrace | P.O. Box 1179,, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeland Resort Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeland Resort is situated on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, New Zealand's largest lake and world renowned for its trout fishing and scenery.Set amidst 2.8 acres of landscaped grounds, complete with 64 well equipped studio units, with 42 plasma flat screen TV, tennis court, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, 2 private indoor spa pools, guest laundry facilities, ample off-street parking, 2 conference rooms and the Lakeland Bar and Brasserie.Lakeland Resort offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation, superb conference and function facilities with The Lakeland Bar & Brasserie serving divine cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeland Resort Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Resort Taupo Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing