We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LARGE ROOM & SUPERB RESTAURANT”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed here for a few nights during the RWC last year. The room was massive, with views over the Lake, and it's out of town so it was nice & quiet.
Breakfast buffet was limited, but the off-menu items were superb.
The highlight of our stay was dinner at the attached restaurant, Bistro Lago, as this was the best meal we've had in NZ - local ingredients cooked imaginatively and expertly. Thank you Hilton for realising that not all travellers want standard Hilton fare, and for allowing restaurants to reflect the food from where they are!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoPomsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear TwoPomsSydney,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us from your stay during RWC 2011. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our spacious accommodation rooms and views, further, the wonderful meals prepared in Bistro Lago restaurant, under the guidance of celebrity master Chef Simon Gault.

I do hope that we will be able welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the future.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,812 - 1,818 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed in a junior suite on our way to and from the 1st ABs vs Ireland test. The best bits were the spa and general feel of staying in a quality hotel. The service was fantastic - staff only too happy to assist. We ate at the restaurant on the first night which was lovely. Although our booked table was a little late we were offered complimentary drinks whilst we waited. We only intended to stay the one night but on the way home from the rugby decided to stay again to break our trip back to Hawke's Bay. The deciding factor for my husband was the 'pillow menu' which we missed on the first night - and resulted in not the best sleep for him. All was rectified on the second night so it pays to read the info in the room. To sum up - if you're heading to or through Taupo, definitely stay here. It may cost a little more than a standard hotel but you can see why - and it's worth it. We're looking forward to staying again sometime soon!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Twists,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to hear that your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed our thermally heated spa pool and our in-room pillow menu which offers a wide selection of pillows to ensure a good nights sleep.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The staff here are just fantastic - along with the hotel too. My first contact with the hotel was to organise a birthday cake for my wife and a cot for our baby - the team there made this super easy, organsied a beautiful cake, note and complimentary chocolates upon arrival - WOW.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. As we were heading to the room the manager helped us with our luggage (we travel very light so don't need help with it). We can see wheer the service ethic comes from.

We were upgraded to a bigger room - which made all the difference having an active 2 year old. The cake arrived the next day - a delicious cake too! The team making up the room, turning it down and everywhere around the hotel were a delight! The pool was beautiful, even on a cold Taupo day. We are just sorry we didn't get to try the restaurant - the 2 year old isn't up to high dining yet.

We travel a lot with work and family - and are now firm converts to Hiltons!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusinessTraveller097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear BusinessTraveller097,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. It is certainly pleasing to hear that we have converted you to a loyal Hilton guest and that we were able to ensure your wife's birthday was an enjoyable one.

I appreciate your glowing feedback regarding our team and hotel facilities and will ensure this is passed in to all involved.

We do look forward to once again welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Please do contact me directly if we can assist with any if your corporate travel accommodation requirements.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at the Hilton May 19th & 20th . again they excelled..cleanliness top notch ..pool spa gym all clean and well maintained. Dinner was excellent in Restaurant ... super service...Had a issue with our car on day of checkout Peter from maintenance came and helped sought it out ..

Room Tip: Looking for a room on ground floor ask for Pool side of Hotel..no view of lake but well sorted for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wenmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Wenmike,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay with us, early May. We very much appreciate your repeat stays.

It is pleasing to hear that your time with us was enjoyable and that you were able to make use of our hotel facilities and restaurant.

Thank you again for posting, I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Had a great stay after an inconvenient mix up with rooms and getting a key that didnt work and having a replacement key delivered to the wrong room! . Not a good start! However, a lovely Junior Suite very comfortable bed and awesome decor. Extremely pleasant staff, but housekeeping let the hotel down failing to wash cups and a glass and refresh the tea/milk. You pay for carparking if undercover, otherwise there is limited carparking outside the building and a very large area quite near to the main highwaybut a bit of a walk from reception and not that secure, felt a lot of guests parked in undesignated places to avoid the lower carpark option. For a 5 star hotel the parking needs to be better. We would have had dinner at the restaurant if we were able to get a booking but they were fully booked, but had a lovely cheeseboard and special coffee upon returning from a meal elsewhere.The pool looked lovely but didnt use. A lovely hotel in an awesome setting.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the Lake get good morning sun. The Junior Suite is very roomy with a good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZaZaPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear ZaZaPapamoa,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay on TripAdvisor. I appreciate you bringing to my attention some areas for improvement and am sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulty with room keys upon arrival. Please be assured that all feedback is greatly appreciated and assists us in improving our overall guest experience.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley | Hotel Manager
Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have stayed at the Hilton Lake Taupo twice now in the 3 bedroom apartment you cannot fault this place! Its stunning and very roomy.

We travel with my 2 kids and my parents the rooms are lovely and spacious and have 2 bathrooms and 2 big balconies.

The facilites here are fantastic the pool in heated all year round and the gym is great too.

Will be planning a weekend here again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Myounger,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for choosing Hilton Lake Taupo as your preferred accommodation in Taupo.

Myounger, it is pleasing to read that you have now stayed with us on a couple of occasions and both times have thoroughly enjoyed your experience, our facilities and convenience of our three bedroom apartments.

I do look forward to personally meeting you at some stage in the future, please do let me know when you next visit.

Best regards,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Hilton Lake Taupo is set amongst the beauty of Taupo, from the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and even got a free upgrade! The room was huge and could have had another king bed in there and still have heaps of room! The bed and pillows were very comfortbale and the bathroom was also fantastic. Buffet breakfast's variety was nice, and they made us fresh eggs to our liking on request. Overall, a really relaxing and comfortable stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm_at2814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CF-AKLLT, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear mm_at2814,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is always very pleasing to know that we have exceeded guest expectations, something our team strive for on every occasion.

I am pleased to hear that you found our overall service personal and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again, sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Hotel Manager | Hilton Lake Taupo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 68 in Taupo
345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Cove Taupo
The Cove Taupo
#15 of 68 in Taupo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range: £110 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing