We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Away”
Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Weekend Away”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently took my wife on a surprise weekend away, and I chose the Hilton after hearing great reviews from our friends.

We were recommended to pick the Heritage side of the Hotel, and were not disappointed with the character of the building. Our room (Deluxe Guest Room) was spacious with an enormous bed, and good sized bathroom with bathtub. We also had a great balcony with amazing views of the lake, mountains and sunsets.

I would definitely check out your pillow early on - we both found ours to be very large and uncomfortable on the first night, but there is a great Pillow Menu on offer so this was easily fixed.

We dined at Bistro Lago the first night, which was very nice. Great wine selection, well thought out menu and tasty dishes. Although the wait staff were a bit too efficient and we felt rushed through our dinner - despite asking for more time. Maybe this is a Taupo thing, we also found this on the second night at a different restaurant.

Staff were pleasant at check in and check out, although we did ring concierge on the second night to book a taxi to take us to dinner. After a gruff "confirmation" on the phone, we went downstairs to await our ride. Unfortunately it did not show, and after checking with reception they advised no booking had been made. There was no apology and we ended up being late for our reservation. A bit of tarnish on an otherwise great weekend.

Room Tip: Heritage Side with a Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flash6481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Flash 6481,

Many thanks for taking the time to post on trip advisor. I am thrilled to see that you loved your stay in the Heritage Wing and got to enjoy some of Taupo’s wonderful sunsets. I was however sorry to hear about the communication breakdown with your taxi. I have passed your valuable feedback onto our Front Office Manager who joins me in apologising for any inconvenience this caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,256
    534
    196
    67
    26
See reviews for
450
1,168
61
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My wife and I have just spent three nights here at the end of a month long Australasian holiday. On checking our Trailfinders itinerary before arrival, we noted that we would be upgraded to a "Guest Room Plus". We had not anticipated at all that this would mean a one bedroom apartment complete with fully fitted kitchen; dining room; separate bedroom; bathroom with "his n hers" basins; two tvs, complete with a balcony and wonderful view of the lake! Delightfully, our receptionist didn't make any mention of what we might expect and we opened the door for a wonderful surprise!
From our viewpoint, the timing was great, having just "eaten out" each night for four weeks so we tried out the self catering facilities provided, which work well if you are not too ambitious with what you want to cook! The washing machine and tumble dryer were also put to full use as well which was another added bonus.
Mention must also be made of the very high quality of the service received from the housekeeping staff who we met during our self catering experience. Quite delightfully helpful and charming.
In all fairness, there are several valid criticisms one needs to make because it isn't all perfect!
Firstly, breakfast provides all that one generally expects of such a five star establishment but a number of items such as fruits and sliced bread are only put out in small quantities so it always seems to be necessary to ask a member of staff to replenish this or that. This wasn't a one off as it happened every day of our stay circa 0830 so it wasn't just that the service was about to finish. Replenishment was rapidly provided but part of the problem is the small serving dishes that are used. Secondly, breakfast is served in the only restaurant, the Bistro Lago, which true to type, provides only very hard wooden seats. Ok for breakfast which is a relatively short period but for an evening gourmet dinner this might be an endurance test one didn't expect!
Lastly, the provision of wifi. Yes it is available but at a cost of 15 dollars a day, amazingly this currently represents a 50% discount off the standard rate. Given the ubiquitous nature of modern communication devices and the need of their users to be in touch 24/7 this is somewhat offputting as indeed it appeared to other guests as well. One of two free communication areas is the lobby where there are just eight very comfy seats on leather sofas/armchairs. The first time I tried to logon, there was just one seat available and everyone there was heavily engaged including a Skype conversation - an extraordinary lack of etiquette surely? - my ipad was so overwhelmed it was unable to connect! On returning several hours later, there were only four guests there and connection was duly made. As an observation, it does seem strange that with all the rooms covered with wifi and guests paying five star rates, they should feel obliged to come down to the lobby in significant numbers to avoid the charges otherwise imposed. Even more so, should you be a guest awaiting transport and there is nowhere to sit because you have intruded on a Communications centre!
So, overall, a great experience but not quite perfection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Goodltraveller,

Many thanks for your recent trip advisor post. It was a pleasure having you here with us.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom apartment and got to experience those panoramic lake views. I also appreciate your additional feedback regarding the breakfast and wi fi as it helps me understand where we do well and where we can improve.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have just had a wonderful weekend at the Hilton, very enjoyable with friendly reception, great food ( although vegetarian options lack imagination), room was clean and spacious with Great Lake views. We did have a minor problem with our entry card which didn't work several times , therefore having to go back to reception to activate it. The pool etc,clean, good temperature and open until late. Our last hilton (LA airport) nearly put us off altogether but Taupo has seen to that. Great weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatgirlslim40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear fatgirlslim40,

Many thanks for your post on trip advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we managed to restore your faith in the Hilton brand.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo for another weekend in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hilton in Taupo was in one word - amazing. The rooms were immaculate, and the grounds were beautiful, not to mension the view! The staff were all very polite and helpful. All in all it was a fantastic stay and we will now stay there every time we go to Taupo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Natalie L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most favourable feedback on trip advisor. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at the Hilton Lake Taupo.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Typical NZ all rolled into one, snow capped mountain, Azure lake, beautiful clean rooms, with top end fit and finish, stunning heated outdoor pool area with well maintained and groomed tennis courts. Wonderful place for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Amir K,

Many thanks for your recent trip advisor post. I am thrilled to hear that you loved your experience at the hotel and got to enjoy Taupo’s stunning lake and mountain views. We look forward to welcoming you back here for another weekend getaway.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we recently stayed at the hilton friday through this past sunday, and it was a perfect place to have some rest. The hotel is beautiful, and since we were diamond members we were able to pay for an upgrade to a really nice suite that was available. The receptionist was very nice and helpful, and arranged a dinner at their restaurant for us the following night.
The room we had was a one bedroom suite on a high floor overlooking the lake. It was stunning and huge with a separate kitchen table to seat 6, a very large middle bar with a sink and dishwasher that also sat about 6 people. The suite had its own washer dryer, oven and full refrigerator and a very large covered deck with a wooden rectangular table and 4 very comfortable chairs. Very impressed with the room.
We stayed with my three children so the pull out sofa bed was perfect, but we could used a rollaway that was offered as well.
The pool is nicely heated and has two levels, with a smaller level only about 2 ft deep so perfect area for toddlers to walk around in. I thought that was a really nice touch for families. The workout facility is outside next to the pool and is all windows, so you can workout while watching the kids swim another bonus. We never made it into the steam room or sauna but they looked nice.
The restaurant had some of the best food I have eaten, and it was great they accommodated children without any problems. Some of the fine food establishments turn up their noses at children, but this place welcomed us and treated us extremely well.
Breakfast was good, and as a diamond member you receive complimentary continental breakfast, so we had to pay 10 dollars each day for the upgrade to buffett. It was good food, but for 35 dollars for a buffet breakfast I would have thought there would be more choice. My recommendation is take a look before you get seated it might be a better deal to go to town or eat in the room with the full kitchen. However, I must say the staff at the restaurant were awesome, for two days we watched them run around and help everyone out that was part of some tour group. But yet they had time to make sure that we received perfectly cooked eggs to order in a very timely manner. And most importantly they catered to our children which was a great touch.
The hotel is about 5 minutes from downtown, so if you want to walk to the downtown area this is a bit far, however, the distance lets you have restful nights. The other bonus is that you overlook de bretts hot springs, and it was nice to walk down with a discount voucher from the front desk and have a family day at the hot springs for only 45 dollars.
All and all a fabulous hotel with large rooms, and wonderful staff. We will be coming back and will update if there is any changes in service our next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Jimandthefamily,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed post about your stay at the Hilton Lake Taupo. As a valued Hilton Honours Diamond member we value your feedback and your continued business with Hilton Worldwide. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Top Service! Top Accommodation! Top Facilities! Having stayed in many other places in Taupo, The Hilton in Taupo is "heads" above the rest in all areas. If you want to be looked after in an great environment with awesome facilities, then this is where you need to be in Taupo!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Reef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Reef R,

Thank you for your wonderful positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am delighted to hear that you rate the Hilton Lake Taupo so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.

Kindest Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.0 mi away
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing