We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Lake Taupo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Lake Taupo
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Taupo
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Family holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Disappointing start in that the room was not ready at check in time of 3pm. Room was finally ready after 3rd trip back to reception, each more than 10 min after the promised time. While the staff were apologetic and in the end provided a complementary breakfast for the following morning as compensation it was very disappointing for the amount we were paying for the stay. The 1 bedroom suite was excellent and the kids loved it. Breakfast was average with very mediocre service. I came away with the feeling that the hotel did not have sufficient staff. Overall lovely hotel but we did not consider it value foe money and the most disappointing stay I have had at a Hilton hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I am pleased to hear that you and the children loved the one bedroom apartment. I was however sorry to hear that your room was not ready on arrival. We do try our best to have rooms ready by 3pm and I do apologise that this was not the case for you and your family.

I have also passed on your valuable feedback regarding the breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    503
    184
    63
    23
See reviews for
417
1,112
52
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Hilton Honours card member stayed 2 nights in expensive 3b/room apartment
Have stayed in Hilton in various countries and found this one disappointing. Small things not up to scratch - no stationary - not even one pen in apartment. No laundry powder provided even though full washer and dryer in apartment until requested. No towels or bathroom amenities in third b/room on first night of stay. Given that u are paying premium prices for accomodation (over $800 pn) one would expect free wifi. No fresh pool towels by pool (@approx 5.00pm in afternoon) had to request a staff member for some. Very disappointed with staff attitude @ restaurant when I popped in to look at menu for dinner. Waited for several minutes for anyone to even come over and assist me, handed menu by staff member who then wandered off. Not interested in asking any questions of me - when were we looking at coming to restaurant, how many in party etc. As a result 8 guests went elsewhere for dinner based on this initial interaction! Located on edge of town (generally too far for most to walk into) but no shuttle offered free or otherwise.
Would not choose this Hilton again, nor recommend. Property itself is new and therefore is of a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandSJan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear T&SJan2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet all of your expectations. Your feedback is important to us as is your custom, and, your comments have since been discussed with both our Executive Housekeeper and our Food & Beverage Manager. Please be assured that this is not indicative of our usual service standards and I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms for 5 people for 3 nights and arrived @ 3:30pm. Only 2 rooms ready. The 3rd room was eventually ready @ 17:30! One room was an apartment. Decor lovely! Layout fantastic. Housekeeping appalling! Day 1 room serviced after 3pm Day 2 after 4pm. When we asked if our room could be serviced we were told later as they were busy!
In 2014 I do not expect to pay for wifi in the room! $15 a day would have meant another $45 for 3 rooms a day :) get real Hilton NZ!
Unfortunately Hilton has the best facilities in Taupo and location is great, but at @ $1000 per night for the 5 of us very bad value!
Restaurant for dinner the first night average. I had booked a table for 5 and we were very disappointed with the location at the door.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosebuds63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKLLT-GM, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Rosebuds63,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor post. I was pleased to hear that you loved the décor and layout of the 1 bedroom apartment. I am however sorry to hear that on this occasion we did not meet all of your expectations and that your 3rd room was not ready until 17.30. Your feedback has most certainly been passed onto our Executive Housekeeper who joins me in apologising for any inconvenience caused.
In regards to the internet I am hoping that you were advised on arrival that there is complimentary wi fi in the lobby, the business centre and the restaurant. I do apologise if this was not relayed to you.

If you would like to discuss anything further than please do not hesitate to contact me direct at ryan.mikkelson@hilton.com

I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hilton Lake Taupo in the future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a bad time at the hilton taupo went to the restaurant expecting a great lunch (had been same restaurant year ago) tablecloth not iron pizza bread disappointing main nice waitress not pleasant. Booked in room lovely but dusty then went to go down in the lift but was not working rang down to tell them because my mother was recovering from an operation could not use the stairs they said they would keep me updated heard from no one ended up ringing down 3 times in 2 hours went to see them and they said they were very busy with checking people in and things they would let me know when it was fixed. By this time my mother was getting very upset being stuck in a room and wanting her dinner. In the end rang down again to see if the lift would be working tonight and they said it was fixed already no one had bothered to tell us by that time our trip had turned into a nightmare instead of a treat and rest. Packed up and went home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jinny J,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I did try to contact you yesterday and have sent you an email to contact me at your convenience.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay at Hilton Taupo Hotel. The staff are excellent and are one of the best in NZ. I can vouch for the staff at Hilton Hotel as I am myself a Hospitality Professional with a vast experience in this Industry.

Keep doing the great work and I am sure this hotel will be the best in the country some day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kapil Rajendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Kapil Rajendra S,

Thank you for your taking the time to post on trip advisor and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the customer service from the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great location, mineral pools within 100 metres. The fantastic view, looking south across Lake Taupo to the mountains framing the end of the lake. Sight seeing at its best. Best restaurant. Excellent sized standard rooms. Prices for rooms and restaurant very reasonable.

Room Tip: Room on the pol side limited views. Rooms on the south side best views (the lake and mountains)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Raymond W,

Thank you for your taking the time to post on trip advisor and great to hear that you enjoyed the views from the hotel and also your dining experience at Bistro Lago.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated, very well maintained and staff absolutely pleasant and very helpful. A very relaxing stay and would come back again.

Pool and Spa pool were the hit with my little one and hotel also kid friendly - on arrival my 6 year old was also given a kids welcome pack.

Room service was great and kids meal excellent .

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Manager at Hilton Lake Taupo, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Keith E,

Dear David D,

Thank you for your taking the time to post on trip advisor and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the pool and spa were at hit with your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ryan Mikkelson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#4 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
1.4 mi away
Beechtree Motel
Beechtree Motel
#6 of 69 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Lake Taupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Lake Taupo

Property: Hilton Lake Taupo
Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Taupo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Taupo
#6 Family Hotel in Taupo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Lake Taupo 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hilton Lake Taupo, the regions only 5 Star International hotel. From its spectacular vantage point, Hilton Lake Taupo commands magnificent views over New Zealand’s largest lake and beyond. This distinguished hotel offers a wide range of room types (113 rooms total), from Hilton Guest Rooms through to the grand Presidential Suite. For families, groups and those staying a little longer, one to three bedroom apartments offer a convenient new option. Rejuvenate with a round of tennis, or a workout in the fully-equipped gym or enjoy a dip in the naturally heated outdoor pool and spa-pool or relax in the sauna or steam room. Indulge in flagship restaurant and bar, Bistro Lago with an inspired menu created by New Zealand master chef Simon Gault. Be prepared for an extraordinary experience: an outstanding location, a breathtaking panorama, exceptional service, an intimate ambiance and contemporary luxury of the highest standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Lake Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lake Taupo Hotel Taupo
Terraces Hotel Taupo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing